Announcement

After 5 years serving the vintage Apple enthusiast community, ThinkClassic has been marked for closure and is now in caretaker mode. Please see this thread for further information. Please direct any questions, comments and enquiries about the website, management and ownership to this thread.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-06-03 15:30:12

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Max1zzz's pile of macs

Thought i would post one of these since my collection has been growing allot recently

So in no particular order:

Desktops:
Mac Plus, 4Mb of ram with a 250mb external hdd (which i think has died, wouldn't show up on the Q950 when i tried)

Mac Plus, unknown specs, was originally a 512k and will be downgraded to a 512ke as soon as i find it a 512k bucket

LC, 10Mb of ram, 40mb hdd. This is the mac that pretty much started me collecting 68k's, brought it last year just as my exams where finishing

LC II 10Mb of ram, 9.1Gb 7k2 SCA hdd. Recapped by uniserver

LC III, 80Mb IBM hdd

LC 475, so far i have failed to get video out of this, apart for that it seems to work ( i can hear it booting from the floppy drive)

Performa 450, 20Mb of Ram 1GB IBM disk

Quadra 840av, unknowen specs

Quadra 950, 20Mb of ram, 650Mb full height 5.25" HDD

Mac IIx, unknown specs. Turned on, chimed then the PS exploded, waiting on new filter caps

Mac IIx, unknown specs. Has a board marked 'Seed1' installed

IIci, 36Gb SCA Hdd, 8MB of ram

IIcx, Not sure on the specs

Performa 630, Complete in box, 500Mb Hdd

Performa 6200, Boxed (not complete though, missing some packing), 4Gb Hdd

PowerMac 8600 200Mhz, 18.4Gb SCA hdd, 100 and something Mb of ram, 133mhz PC compatibility card, Twin turbo 128 GFX card

PowerMac G3 DT x2

PowerMac G4 QS (2001) 1.2Ghz sonnet CPU

PowerMac G4 MDD (2003) single 1.25Ghz CPU

PowerMac G4 Sawtooth (In bits, currently has no PSU / HDD / DVD / DVD cage / Ram and is missing one hdd sled) 400mhz

PowerMac G5 Dual 2.5Ghz (converted from liquid cooling to air cooling) 4Gb of ram, 80Gb hdd

iMac G4 700mhz, 40Gb hdd

iMac G3 Slot Loading, 350Mhz

MacMini G4, 1.25Ghz, 1GB or Ram, 120Gb Hdd (First mac I ever owned)



Laptops:

Duo 230, 120Mb IBM HDD

PowerBook G3, 350mhz

iBook G3 500Mhz 'Dual USB', 60Gb hdd

iBook G3 500Mhz 'Dual USB', 15Gb hdd, 640Mb of ram

PowerBook G4 12" 1.5Ghz, 40Gb Hdd, 512Mb of Ram

6x various PowerBook 1xx series

MacBook Pro (early 2008) 2.4Ghz C2D, 4Gb of ram, 1x500Gb hdd and 1x250Gb hdd (in the optical bay)



Servers:

Xserve G4 trayload, Dual 1Ghz, 2GB of ram, 2x160GB Hdd and 2x 320Gb hdd

Xserve G5, Single 2Ghz, 4GB of ram, SAS card, 6TB total storage (formatted capacity) (1x320Gb internal, 1x1TB internal, 1x2TB internal, 1x1TB and 1x2TB external on the SAS card 1x80GB firewire)

WorkGroupServer 6150, unknowen specs



Hackintosh's (not really apple, but worth a mention)

Acer E1-571, 2.2Ghz QC i7, 6GB of ram, 1TB HDD, runs 10.8.5

Home build, 3.1Ghz QC i5  (i5-2400), 4GB of ram, Radeon HD 6670 2GB, 1x160GB Hdd (Win 7) 1x320GB Hdd (OSX 10.8.5)

Mediacenter, 2.66Ghz Xeon DC (5150), 2Gb of ram, 1x80GB hdd (10.8.5 boot) 1x500GB hdd (media). All Stuffed into a Graphite G4 case


Will see if i can get pictures of some of them tommrow

Offline

#2 2014-06-03 21:10:20

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: Max1zzz's pile of macs

You have a Xeon in a G4 case? How does that go with regards to cooling?

Offline

#3 2014-06-03 21:50:00

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Max1zzz's pile of macs

Yeah, it gets a little toasty, having 2 3.5" drives pushed it over the edge (the boot drive stopped working, but seems to work fine after removing)
so i had to swap it for a 2.5" drive

That was before i added a extra fan though, found a small one that fits behind the old speaker grill which seems to have reduced the temperature quite a bit

I'm probably going to move all it's storage off to the server, having just a laptop drive for boot should cool it down a bit

This is a bit of a old picture of the innards, still has 2 3.5" drives (one at the bottom right, one in the zip bay) and it doesn't have a graphics card in it (it has a HD4670 in it now) and it dosen't have the fan in the front
Photo%2844%29.JPG

Offline

#4 2014-06-04 14:53:55

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Max1zzz's pile of macs

I love it! smile

If you don't mind a suggestion: it looks to me that you need more air coming into and exiting the case than the inlets can handle. it also looks as if you're not using the optical or Zip. I'd remove the Graphite center panel and replace it with a G5'ish grill with a fan behind it and pull out any unused backplane cover plates. That should decrease your operating temperatures dramatically. Especially so if you duct the new fan straight at your heat sink, also like the G5.

If you like the idea, let's talk it over in Hacks.

< swerves back on topic >

That's quite a large and nicely distributed collection, you snagged all of that within one year? If so, that's impressive! wink

Offline

#5 2014-06-04 18:41:28

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Max1zzz's pile of macs

Well it is a very good idea And i would probably do it if it weren't for two problems, one is that both bays are in use, the other is that i want to keep it looking stock (at least from the front)

But thanks for the idea anyway smile

And as for the computers, all the 68k's (execpt from the first plus), WGS 6150, Performa 6200, one of the iBooks's the PowerBook g3 and the MDD (and all the hackintosh's) are what i have snagged within the year. I have actually been collecting macs for about 7 years, but it was only G3 / G4 era PPC's back then

Last edited by max1zzz (2014-06-04 18:41:51)

Offline

#6 2014-06-04 20:03:49

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 600

Re: Max1zzz's pile of macs

Well done Hackintosh, there!

I have a spare G5 case with mangled foot and front grille, and I plan on fixing those problems and making a Hackintosh out of it (I have my proof of concept #2 in an eMachines case right now, and I'm working on another (#3), so this would be #4). The hard part will be machining the brackets and other necessary bits of hardware to mount everything properly.

Good job on your collection as well!

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#7 2014-06-04 23:19:36

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Max1zzz's pile of macs

The G4 wasn't too bad to mount up the board, just bolted it to the metal side. I assume the G5 doesn't have a separate mounting plate for the MLB?

I did actually intend to use a G5 case for my build (it wasn't originally intended to be a mediacenter, a G5 would be a tad to big for that) but the case was too expensive

Offline

#8 2014-06-05 21:28:22

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Max1zzz's pile of macs

NoPro, I understand, I love my Graphite Beauty as is as well.

Maybe think about getting one of those blank slot blowers and turn the fan around (add filter, obviously) to overpressure the case with cool air blown in from floor level. IIRC, they're squirrel Cages, so it'ss almost double the width, but when you mount it OUTSIDE the plastic case you should be able to point he airstream, or duct it, straight at your CPU heat sink/cooler. wink

Last edited by jt (2014-06-05 21:35:37)

Offline

#9 2014-07-08 21:22:14

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Max1zzz's pile of macs

Looks like the xeon G4 may be needing a rebuild. The damn thing shut it's self down last night and refused to reboot, after a quick inspection 2 damn caps had failed... So i replaced both of them and 3 other ones that looked suspicious. But it seems a bit iffy, one sata port seems to be dead and it kept crashing (but seems fine now, maybe the rest of the caps on the board are shot?)

Oddly the board has one single Rubycon cap and the rest look like cheap crap

And i thought gigabyte where meant to make good quality boards....

Anyway, i'm thinking of using a atom based mini itx board in it, since those should run a bit cooler and won't get in the way of the dvd drive....

Offline

#10 2014-07-08 21:35:14

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: Max1zzz's pile of macs

To be honest I used to like Giga too, but the only boards I use these days are Intel...

Offline

#11 2014-07-08 21:49:13

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Max1zzz's pile of macs

I'll have to take a look at intel's offerings, the last intel board i had was a old socket 478 board and the memmory voltage regulator blew on it (there was actually a easy fix for it, but i was 10-11 and not so handy with the soldering iron so just chucked it)

on the subject of boards, the worst board i ever came across was the old asrock board i used in my hackintosh server, that actually sounded like it was delaminateing every time you touched it...

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.