You are not logged in.

#1 2015-07-12 00:28:35

Schmoburger
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 281
Website

Sawtooths and ADC displays.

So I'm sure you can see where this is going...

If I were to stick an AGP card from some later Mac with an ADC port into my Sawtooth, would it work? Does it have the power outputs to power the ADC display through the card? and if so, is the PSU able to reliably supply power to a 21 inch studio display?

Specifically, I was thinking of putting the card from my old and pretty well useless G5 into my Saw which conveniently is missing a card and running off a PCI at the moment.


Stay hungry... Stay foolish.
G5 2.0DC, Yikes G4/500 Sonnet-Enhanced, B+W G3/450, 9600/200MP, 7600/200, iMacs DVSE Graphite and 600 Snow, 7220/200, WGS 7350/180, 6360/160, 5500/250 DE, Pismo, 2x Lombards, 6100/66DOS, 2x CC's, 3x Pluses, 512K, SE/30, SE Superdrive, 2x Classics, IIvx, IIci, IIsi, 3x LC520, 4x LC575, 5x P580, LC, LCIII, //gs LE, 2x ROM 02 //gs', IIe... and I'm outta characters!

Offline

#2 2015-07-12 00:35:18

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 973
Website

Re: Sawtooths and ADC displays.

Their AGP slots are keyed differently. If I recall correctly, G5 is AGP pro and the ADC tab is in a different location than the old Sawtooth AGP.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#3 2015-07-12 00:36:02

Schmoburger
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 281
Website

Re: Sawtooths and ADC displays.

Also, as an adendum to this question... assuming that the Saw cannot supply power to an ADC-equipped card, can I still use an ADC-equipped card that also has DVI and simply run the display off the DVI output instead of ADC (which I know will not render my big screen any less useless but still)


Stay hungry... Stay foolish.
G5 2.0DC, Yikes G4/500 Sonnet-Enhanced, B+W G3/450, 9600/200MP, 7600/200, iMacs DVSE Graphite and 600 Snow, 7220/200, WGS 7350/180, 6360/160, 5500/250 DE, Pismo, 2x Lombards, 6100/66DOS, 2x CC's, 3x Pluses, 512K, SE/30, SE Superdrive, 2x Classics, IIvx, IIci, IIsi, 3x LC520, 4x LC575, 5x P580, LC, LCIII, //gs LE, 2x ROM 02 //gs', IIe... and I'm outta characters!

Offline

#4 2015-07-12 00:37:01

Schmoburger
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 281
Website

Re: Sawtooths and ADC displays.

mcdermd wrote:

Their AGP slots are keyed differently. If I recall correctly, G5 is AGP pro and the ADC tab is in a different location than the old Sawtooth AGP.

Ah bugger... A well it was worth a stab! Cheers for the headsup mcd. smile


Stay hungry... Stay foolish.
G5 2.0DC, Yikes G4/500 Sonnet-Enhanced, B+W G3/450, 9600/200MP, 7600/200, iMacs DVSE Graphite and 600 Snow, 7220/200, WGS 7350/180, 6360/160, 5500/250 DE, Pismo, 2x Lombards, 6100/66DOS, 2x CC's, 3x Pluses, 512K, SE/30, SE Superdrive, 2x Classics, IIvx, IIci, IIsi, 3x LC520, 4x LC575, 5x P580, LC, LCIII, //gs LE, 2x ROM 02 //gs', IIe... and I'm outta characters!

Offline

#5 2015-07-12 00:40:11

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 973
Website

Re: Sawtooths and ADC displays.

The Mac Elite wiki used to be the go-to for PC GPU flashing. It still exists. You sometimes need to cut off (or tape over) a couple pins. It used to be a pretty cheap way to get a Radeon 9800 Pro or GeForce 5500 into your G4 PM


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#6 2015-07-12 03:45:54

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 576

Re: Sawtooths and ADC displays.

A card from an early-ish G5 should be AGP 4x or 8x, and can be made to work with the early G4's, which can only do AGP 2x, by way of disconnecting or taping over certain pins (which pins need taping varies depending on the card), as mcdermd says.

The card from your DP G5 should be compatible, as the early G5's used cards that were mostly true to the regular AGP standard, but you won't have ADC power, as the Sawtooth doesn't have the needed power pins (the data/signal pins will continue to work, so you could use an DVI to ADC adapter and plug a regular, self-powered monitor into the ADC port.

Good luck!

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#7 2015-07-12 04:06:45

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Sawtooths and ADC displays.

so haha.. I am running a ADC 23" Screen with my 500mhz Cube,  and its got a Geforce3 video card.  ha! Sickening!   Hap hooked me up big time!


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#8 2015-07-12 05:48:38

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 973
Website

Re: Sawtooths and ADC displays.

cc - the problem isn't the AGP standards, it's the physical fit of the card. Here's some pics for comparison:

The original AGP G4 (Sawtooth):
2zi55ax.png

The Gigabit Ethernet AGP (supports ADC - note the extra power slot)
2cpeqaa.png

The Power Mac G5:
kdlgcj.png

Later Power Mac G5 used PCIe.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#9 2015-07-12 16:08:19

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 576

Re: Sawtooths and ADC displays.

Oh, I see!

There were some stock G5 cards that were normal AGP and not AGP Pro, though. Correct? Those would work fine in a Sawtooth with some modifications and no ADC power.

I know this must be somewhat true because I installed a pull from a G5 into my Sawtooth at some point, and it just worked, and more recently, I put another G5 card into my MDD, and I had to tape two pins for it to work, which it has (I need to fix the ADC power connector, though, which technically would work, except the connector on the card is at the wrong spot, to make allowances for installing it in an AGP Pro slot).

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.