You are not logged in.

#1 2014-05-28 16:04:36

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 955
Website

Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

Quadra_950_hero.jpg
What would cause this?
** well apparently it did boot to desktop once but bomb'd
* after this, system was acting like floppy drive was no longer there.

(Not My issue, Someone else's issue)
I Don't even own a Q950.

Couple things I do know about the Q950 However.

- the Q950's caps are solid chemistry.
- the Q950 does have some kind of security system on it.
( Can be disabled by unplugging the jumper? )

- The floppy drive is good, and 3 other working floppy drives were tried.

√ Probably the first thing i would do is wash/dry the Mainboard.
√ Inspect MB for a crispy tantalum cap, maybe one fell victim to thermal runaway? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thermal_ru … capacitors
√ The next thing i would do is check the PSU voltages with the meter.

What do you guys think?

Last edited by uniserver (2014-05-28 18:21:22)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#2 2014-05-28 16:13:28

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 940
Website

Re: Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

Did you check for the proper key position in the center? The "lock" position will keep it from using floppies or CDs.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#3 2014-05-28 17:22:11

ScutBoy
Member
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 156

Re: Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

And I believe if you disconnect the key switch it defaults to locked position, so that would explain floppy not working.

Offline

#4 2014-05-29 01:12:30

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 955
Website

Re: Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

Max hey...   could the key switch possibly be your issue here?


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#5 2014-05-29 01:18:44

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

Hey, this is my q950 that has this issue

The keyswitch is currently unplugged as i don't have the correct key (never actually realised they had unique keys till after i brought it) and the lock was left in the locked position (anyone know which pins on the connector need shorting to simulate the key in a unlocked position?)

The system boots fine from a good hdd (damn this thing is fast with 7.1)

I'll aslo add i haven't tried the drive included in the system as it is currently sized solid, i tried 4 drives out of other macs, three of those had been tested and where known working

Offline

#6 2014-05-29 04:33:45

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 940
Website

Re: Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

If you don't figure it out by tomorrow morning, I'll pull mine out and meter the key switch for you.

I also unearthed this for you:

When the keyswitch is in the SECURE position, the ADB devices and floppy disk drive are disabled. For example, the keyboard does not generate characters, or the mouse moves but no menus can be pulled down. Also, when power is applied to the computer while the keyswitch is in the SECURE position, the computer automatically starts up.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#7 2014-05-29 11:43:42

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

hmm... well adb seems to work fine (which it dosen't with the keyswitch connected)

If you could test the switch that'd be brilliant, all i have managed to gather is shorting 1 and 2 will power up the computer, keeping them connected locks the computer, shorting 2 and 3 (when the computer is on) powers it off, keeping it shorted prevents the computer powering up

Offline

#8 2014-05-29 15:08:20

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 940
Website

Re: Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

Sounds like shorting 1-2 is "secure" (automatic restart, locked), shorting 2-3 is "off" (does nothing except turn off the computer when on), no pins shorted is "on".

EDIT: Testing results:

OFF: 1-2
ON: All Open
SECURE: 2-3

xlcd8g.jpg


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#9 2014-05-29 16:50:39

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 955
Website

Re: Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

silly question... could the floppy cable be bad?


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#10 2014-05-29 21:33:27

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 806

Re: Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

Unlikely, but it could be possible - I've seen floppy cables and IDE cables on PCs go bad, so if you have a spare its worth a shot.

Offline

#11 2014-05-29 22:34:31

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Quadra 950 not booting from floppy.

thanks for testing that, it should be ok then

the floppy cable is fine (well at least it was not the problem - I tried annother

I'm guessing a bad via - the computer was in a very damp environment, I'll have to do some probing next week

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.