You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-09 17:05:54

jeb0007
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 15

Clone a new larger HDD

Hello... I have searched and search to find this answer but seemed to have failed.

To be clear.. I am a Windows user and to clone an HDD to a larger size is just so easy with Acronis. You add the second HDD and BOOT from the Acronis DVD and select source  and select target  and job done.. Attach the New HDD to the PC and it Boots.

After many searches for MAC it seem to indicate that this is NOT possible on any MAC system to be able to Attached a second HDD and clone it..  There are many third party bits of software like Superduper, etc but ALL say it will not BOOT...only copy the image  or save it to Time machine and then restore to YET another HDD,,,,,,,,

Is the MAC so many years behind technology or am I missing something where I have read forum replies from people who have not got a clue....

I am loosing the will at the moment..

Guidance

PS.. Just to be sure.. All I am looking for is a piece of software for MAC that FULLY clones source HDD to Target HDD and then you can connect the Target HDD in place of the original HDD and it will BOOT up.....

Thanks....

Offline

#2 2017-07-10 04:49:48

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 970
Website

Re: Clone a new larger HDD

It sounds like you're talking about OS X? SuperDuper will certainly create a bootable volume.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#3 2017-07-10 09:12:36

jeb0007
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 15

Re: Clone a new larger HDD

Hello.  The version of the OSX is 10.4.11. So are you saying if I use super-duper I can do a direct clone from original disk to a new disk and then replace the original with the new one and it will BOOT.  I am new to Macs. Been a windows user for many years... Thanks

Offline

#4 2017-07-10 20:08:26

ScutBoy
Member
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 159

Re: Clone a new larger HDD

Carbon Copy Cloner will do this as well. You can download the appropriate version for 10.4 at the bottom of this page:

https://bombich.com/download

I say this as a happy customer for many years.

Offline

#5 2017-07-10 23:19:06

Eudimorphodon
Member
Registered: 2014-09-02
Posts: 525

Re: Clone a new larger HDD

Here's the manual method:

http://forum.maccast.com/topic/15167-cl … s-in-os-x/

CCC/SuperDuper/etc are basically just front-ends to this functionality that's built into OS X's volume management software.


Flap Different.

Offline

#6 2017-07-11 05:09:38

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 575

Re: Clone a new larger HDD

Eudimorphodon wrote:

Here's the manual method:

http://forum.maccast.com/topic/15167-cl … s-in-os-x/

CCC/SuperDuper/etc are basically just front-ends to this functionality that's built into OS X's volume management software.

Indeed. If you boot from an installer CD/DVD, you can use Disk Copy to do exactly what you describe. It became somewhat easier on 10.5+, but it certainly works on 10.4.x.

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.