You are not logged in.

#1 2016-06-16 22:28:41

LazarusNine
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-03-07
Posts: 68
Website

LazarusNine's Sins

Okay. I've finally got around to making a list of all of my current (as of 24 June 2016) machines. I've listed each machine individually, so that means there are some duplicates (or triplicates!). After that, you'll find my original post, which documents my then recent purchase of another Mac SE/30. I'll try to update this list as I remember to.

68k Macintosh:

Macintosh IIx
Macintosh SE/30
Macintosh SE/30
Macintosh SE/30
Macintosh Classic
Macintosh LC
Macintosh LC III
Macintosh Colour Classic (with LC 550 motherboard)
Macintosh LC 475
Macintosh LC 475
Macintosh LC 475
Macintosh Performa 630CD

Power Macintosh:

Power Mac 7100/66AV
Power Mac 4400 200MHz
Power Mac 8600/200

G3/G4 Desktops/Laptops:

iMac Blueberry Rev. D 333MHz
Power Mac G4 MDD 1.25GHz (single processor)
Power Mac G4 MDD 867MHz (dual processor)
Mac Mini G4 1.42GHz
PowerBook G3 Lombard 400MHz (in a 333MHz shell)
iBook Blueberry Clamshell 300MHz
iBook G3 (white) 600MHz
PowerBook G4 Titanium 1GHz It died. Long story.

Intel Macs (daily use machines):

Mac Mini (2011) 2.3GHz dual core i5
MacBook Pro Retina (2012) 2.3GHz quad core i7

Honourable Mentions:

Gaming PC - Quad Core i5 (Haswell), GTX 960, 16GB RAM
HP Stream Mini - Dedicated Steam streaming machine (TV via HDMI)


ORIGINAL POST:

Right, I'll start this off by posting a new acquisition rather than a long list of all of the machines I already own. Will keep the thread updated with future purchases (they're inevitable) and maybe a few details of the machines sitting around the house.

In any case, this is a new purchase - my third SE/30. I'm actually more excited about the Asante SCSI to Ethernet adapter that's coming along with it, as I've not had much luck finding an Ethernet card for the SE/30s I already have.

I have no idea what the insides look like. I've got my caps all bought for the logic board. Will glance at the PSU and analogue board once I've opened it up. I'm praying there are no surprises in the uh *cough* battery arena. Keep in mind that these photos are from the eBay seller. I'll update them once I've got it in my possession. Next week is a CRAZY week, though, so the recap job might have to wait. =(

Last edited by LazarusNine (2017-07-27 03:42:28)

Offline

#2 2016-06-17 01:49:24

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 237

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

the asante drivers were still on the web site if the hard drive is botched one you get it going.

Offline

#3 2016-06-17 02:22:13

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Yeah, I've got that same ethernet adapter hooked up to an LC.  They're great little workhorses.  That reminds me, it's on my todo at some point to figure out and document the scsi protocol they're using for any possible new implementation of a scsi ethernet adapter.

Offline

#4 2016-06-17 02:51:43

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 819

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Ahh, an EN/SC. Nice. Definitely a handy thing to have around.

Offline

#5 2016-06-17 07:33:50

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 970
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Nice!


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#6 2016-06-21 22:19:20

LazarusNine
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-03-07
Posts: 68
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

LCGuy wrote:

Ahh, an EN/SC. Nice. Definitely a handy thing to have around.

Yeah, for sure. It had a US adapter, so I bought a UK adapter with the same specs - seems to work just fine given that I went from AC-AC to AC-DC. I have a US-UK voltage converter, but that didn't seem to work. This certainly does and after about 2 hours of installations, I managed to get one of the SE/30s talking to my Mac Mini G4 file server! :-)

Offline

#7 2016-06-21 22:24:14

LazarusNine
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-03-07
Posts: 68
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Oh goodness. I've done it again. Power Mac 8600/200 - should arrive in the next couple of days. I'm not really in the habit of buying Power Macs as collectables. Well, that's a lie, but I don't typically make a point of it. Still, this one was going to be recycled and was pretty cheap by my estimation.

I'm going to need to get a Mac version of the PCI ATI Rage 128 or a Radeon 7000 in there. Can't be bothered flashing a PC card, as it seems a hassle and I'd have to source the flash chip to solder onto the card. It's a cost-benefit ratio, and I'm not that fussed. Will also eyeball a PCI USB card and that should just about do it.

The listing erroneously stated that the HDD was IDE rather than SCSI. Not sure how I feel about that. SCSI is a better interface, but IDE drives are plentiful and cheap - or even the IDE to SATA solution. Will likely pop a SCA SCSI drive in with one of max1zzz's adopters and call it a day.

Anyone else have one of these Macs? Thoughts, observations? Is it just me, or is there a lot of wasted space in this case when compared to something like the G3/G4 towers that succeed it?

Power Mac 8600/200 - eBay photos

image_zpswflhpkuf.jpeg~original

image_zps3nyxhxcz.jpeg~original

image_zpslv6hapff.jpeg~original

image_zpsuwodqb2z.jpeg~original

Last edited by LazarusNine (2016-06-21 22:28:06)

Offline

#8 2016-06-21 23:02:07

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

I've got a 9600 setup, and the 64mb R7000 (with the right size flash on it for mac) will do a very nice 1920x1200 under system7, which is really nice.  That setup with a 24" DVI display is kind of my preferred coding setup for old macs.

Offline

#9 2016-06-22 02:37:49

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 819

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

LazarusNine wrote:

Yeah, for sure. It had a US adapter, so I bought a UK adapter with the same specs - seems to work just fine given that I went from AC-AC to AC-DC. I have a US-UK voltage converter, but that didn't seem to work. This certainly does and after about 2 hours of installations, I managed to get one of the SE/30s talking to my Mac Mini G4 file server! :-)

Mine was missing the adapter completely, I just got the bare EN/SC, however I've been running it on a 12VDC adapter for years without issue.

Also, looks like a nice example of an 8600. I see it has a Zip drive too, complete with bezel

Offline

#10 2016-06-22 07:28:58

volvo242gt
Member
From: Duvall, WA
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 409
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Used to have a 9600/350, and prior to that, a 9600/200.  Both wound up running the NewerTech 300MHz G3 that I had installed in my 7500/100, though.  Not a bad machine, and lots of bays for drives, etc.  Also, unlike the 7500, the fans on the 9600 power supplies never revved up to the point where they sounded like a shop vac trying to pick up a brick.

-J


modern: Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 6GB/500G/DVD-RW, A1150 MBP 2GHz CD, 2GB/80G/DVD-RW
Pre-Mac: ][+, //e
other: iPhone 6s 128GB Space Gray

Offline

#11 2016-06-23 23:58:13

LazarusNine
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-03-07
Posts: 68
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Okay. So, the first thing to note is that I've updated my original post, so it now includes a full list of all of my Macs (and then some). I don't think I missed anything off, but who knows?!

I received the 8600 today. It's all cleaned up, but I haven't had the chance to boot it yet. Will update a related thread when that happens. I also washed and recapped an SE/30's mobo and gave the case the retr0brite treatment. Fingers crossed that it boots when I put it all back together. I've done some...interesting things with the battery. Will update the thread I have going in the relevant section with progress on that front.

Last edited by LazarusNine (2016-06-23 23:58:34)

Offline

#12 2016-06-25 22:57:03

LazarusNine
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-03-07
Posts: 68
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Right. Really pleased with the condition of the 8600. I've popped Mac OS 8.6 on there, as I feel like that's a decent middle ground for this machine. It definitely needs more RAM (only 64MB!!) and a PCI graphics card to make it really shine. It's in great condition, though. CDs mount quickly and the hard drive is quite speedy (also about 4.5GB, which is not bad for this machine). I'll eventually tinker a bit more with it, but it's pleasing as it is.

In other news, I missed the final bidding on a Mac Plus complete with 20MB external HDD and keyboard. Really pissed off I was having dinner with an in-law rather than paying attention to that! :-P I jest. Anyway, maybe next time.

Last edited by LazarusNine (2017-07-27 03:44:03)

Offline

#13 2016-06-27 19:25:32

Hotdog Zanzibar
Member
From: Columbus, OH
Registered: 2014-07-25
Posts: 83

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Ah, nice and clean. Always liked the 8600/9600. Personally I would've removed the ugly yellow sticker from the front, too.


Daily Driver: TITAN - Mac Pro 1,1 - dual 3GHz quad-cores, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD w/ 3TB RAID storage, GeForce 570 GT 1.25GB
Daily Driver Laptop: PHOENIX - MacBook Pro 1,1 - 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
Collection: **List truncated by forum signature limit** ;)
Looking for: Plus, Color Classic, DuoDock, Portable, Duo 280 keyboard, Q950 CD bezel, TAM, AppleVision 1710AV

Offline

#14 2016-06-28 02:47:21

unity
Member
Registered: 2015-01-09
Posts: 81

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Wow, that is clean. Most I see are pretty beat up. I really like that design too.

Offline

#15 2016-06-28 02:59:10

LazarusNine
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-03-07
Posts: 68
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Hotdog Zanzibar wrote:

Ah, nice and clean. Always liked the 8600/9600. Personally I would've removed the ugly yellow sticker from the front, too.

The sticker will come off eventually. I'm just conscious that there will then be a lighter area that's not as yellowed as the rest of the machine. So, until I'm prepared to retrobrite it, I might leave that sticker on. Plus, it's kind of nice to be reminded that it served an organisation in a very real capacity at some point.

Offline

#16 2016-06-28 03:00:21

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 819

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

I'd probably leave it on - its period correct and a part of the machine's history.

Offline

#17 2016-06-28 03:10:49

LazarusNine
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-03-07
Posts: 68
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

LCGuy wrote:

I'd probably leave it on - its period correct and a part of the machine's history.

For sure. I just looked the company up out of curiosity. It was dissolved in 1999, but seems to have lived on in a variety of ways under different names since then. It serves up advertising and analytics for media companies now. Anyway, as you say, that sticker is definitely period appropriate. I'm increasingly thinking it remains for good.

Here's some info about D.P.S. Typecraft for all those not interested. =P

https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/01876409

Last edited by LazarusNine (2016-06-28 03:12:08)

Offline

#18 2016-07-04 03:13:30

macman142
Member
From: Western Australia
Registered: 2016-03-09
Posts: 13

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Another definite vote for retaining the sticker. I increasingly agree with the thought that those sort of stickers just prove it's life, previous to your ownership. Where it's been, what purpose it served. Also the fact it's period-correct means it's cool too, makes it a little more interesting, a little different to others and so on. EMBRACE THE STICKER haha.

Offline

#19 2017-03-18 13:18:02

LazarusNine
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-03-07
Posts: 68
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

I've acquired a few 'new' machines over the last handful of months. I'll itemise them eventually, but I thought I'd share my most recent project here.

This is a relatively recent acquisition, but one I've been planning on for the last, oh, 25 years. =P I've always been a fan of the Mac IIci, but when I got my hands on a Quadra 700, I thought that would sate my desire for the IIci, given that it is more powerful and shares the same form factor. Time passed and I still wanted the IIci. The design IS different to the Q700 and it's still a unique machine in its own right.

I stumbled across an eBay buy-it-now auction. It was pickup only, but the seller agreed to drive it out to me from North Manchester to Liverpool. I thought that was pretty stellar (even though I paid for the privilege).

The machine was in need of a SERIOUS cleaning job. I gutted it, washed it (literally), recapped the logic board and had to replace the PSU. Even after recapping the PSU, the original one was blowing the electrics in my house. Now I'm backing up the hard drive before replacing it.

What is fascinating about this machine is that the HDD still has the original owner's files on it - even his last will and testament!! He was a songwriter on the west coast of Ireland and has a bunch of Cubase Score 2.0 files with full and partially completed music tracks. The computer speaker is fine, but I'm not getting any music from the files. Might have to mix them down or try to open them on a newer version of the software on a newer Mac.

Anyway, I'm really pleased to finally have another piece of history up and running. I now need to recap the analogue board on the 12" RGB monitor that came with the computer!

Last edited by LazarusNine (2017-07-27 03:45:27)

Offline

#20 2017-03-21 05:21:05

volvo242gt
Member
From: Duvall, WA
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 409
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Hmmm, that LCD flat-panel looks eerily familiar.  Partly because I'm using one just like it to read your post.

Anyway, nice score...  Looks like it needs IIci feets, though.

-J


modern: Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 6GB/500G/DVD-RW, A1150 MBP 2GHz CD, 2GB/80G/DVD-RW
Pre-Mac: ][+, //e
other: iPhone 6s 128GB Space Gray

Offline

#21 2017-03-21 16:23:17

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,407

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, Zip!

+Whatever, definitely keep the sticker. wink

I'm looking a mismatched pair of Dells, 20" & 19" without the silver trim. Dunno if that makes 'em newer or older, but I'm lovin' the things. Their style matches, but the size differential bothered me a lot in the beginning. Wanted to Portraitize the 19 per the original plan, but having the AI menus next to the 1600x1200 working window with a secondary window in square format on the off side has grown on me, vertical displacement has alleviated some of the FengBS OCD irritation as well. You've got vertical displacement to the max going on in that pic, not sure I could ever deal with that.

< wonders if he's finally transitioned from the twin TPD/Portrait CRT setup addiction to  .  .  .  nah, not quite yet! hmm >

Offline

#22 2017-03-22 15:11:16

LazarusNine
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-03-07
Posts: 68
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

volvo242gt wrote:

Hmmm, that LCD flat-panel looks eerily familiar.  Partly because I'm using one just like it to read your post.

Anyway, nice score...  Looks like it needs IIci feets, though.

-J

Thanks! It actually has the front two feets, but not the back ones. I need to get hold of some, but they're low priority.

JT, I don't know if I am entirely sure what you mean by vertical displacement with regard to the Dell monitor. I'm using an Apple display to VGA adapter set for multisync monitors. It's clearly not going to look like it did on the CRT, but I'm curious what you're seeing. I want something more to obsess about. :-P

Last edited by LazarusNine (2017-03-22 15:11:51)

Offline

#23 2017-03-23 04:01:34

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,407

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Just meant that if you had use the three displays as a continuous extended desktop it'd be an interesting exercise to try to set them up in the Monitors Control Panel to get the cursor to flow straight across the fairly narrow band where they align vertically. The Dell is pretty high up there.

My 20" and 19" Dells look like hell sitting right next to each other because of the size mismatch. But with the 20 up on the platform that my KBD slides under at its lowest height setting and the 19 sitting on the desktop next to it higher on its identical silver base so there's a vertical displacement of an inch and a half to two inches top and bottom it looks a lot better to me.

Lets see  .  .  .   simple terms:

If you offset two mismatched picture frames a bit in the height when you hang them together, the size difference in the frames isn't as aggravating as it would be to the eye if you had tried to align them at top or bottom. If you do that it looks like hell.

Feng(Bull)Shit big_smile

Offline

#24 2017-03-23 08:17:30

LazarusNine
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-03-07
Posts: 68
Website

Re: LazarusNine's Sins

Ahhh, gotcha. That makes sense. I'm not actually using those monitors in dual-display mode on any machine. It's just a space-saving exercise. I've got (most) of my entire collection Tetris-ed under the desk, including the four compact Macs (it's a big desk). :-P

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.