You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-24 07:11:26

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 806

Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

So I recently picked up a Pivot card for my SE/30, I believe its a Colour Pivot card. I've installed it, and connected a display, it comes up with the Radius logo......and thats about it:

bAjZnOw.jpg

From what I understand this basically means that the card is getting power, and has detected a monitor, but that its not talking to the Mac. I've had a look at TattleTech and it doesn't appear to show up. The only NuBus/PDS card it seems to recognise is the built in video:

J42Bfpl.jpg

Is there a chance that I might have missed something during installation, or have I got a bung card? The logic board has been recapped so I wouldn't think there'd be any issues with the PDS slot.

Offline

#2 2015-10-24 12:51:31

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

The pic of the card looks like there's a header on it?

Did you install the software as well?

Offline

#3 2015-10-24 13:05:57

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 806

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

That header is for the video port - which is connected. I assume there's drivers for these cards, but a copy wasn't included with the card, nor can I find a copy online anywhere. Still, even without the drivers I would've thought it would show up in TattleTech?

Offline

#4 2015-10-25 02:57:40

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,378

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

It should show up AFAIK. I'll have to go through my RCPII.IIsi thread to see if I ever checked mine. I may not have, it just worked. What resolution are you setting with the VGA adapter? The driver wasn't in the Driver Museum Archive we dredged up recently? Set it for 16" Mac res.

Offline

#5 2015-10-25 04:10:17

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

The fact that the screen is displaying something, says the card's ROM is at least being executed.  Whether the ROM is valid...  who knows.
As we've learned from apm's tribulations, it's possible the card is only wanting a specific system version.
Because this is Radius, all bets are off as far as being reported by standard tools, or interoperating with different versions of the system software.

Offline

#6 2015-10-25 05:29:48

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,378

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

Pretty sure Radius gave up the dirty insider tricks they were required to use in spinning pre-NuBus architecture Macs up to do all the expansionist things his Steveness never wanted the Mac to be able to do by the time of the Pivot.

SJ and the sugar-pusher had long since destroyed Jef Raskin's dream, SJ driving Raskin off the project and out of Apple. The Mac and the GUI arrived just in time for PageMaker, its killer app. The rest of the best that built and coded the Mac left to found Radius. The first two products were the Radius16 and Radius FPD hacked to feed the DTP behemoth. So much for SJ's expansion free, tunnel visions of a slotless Mac. tongue

I'll see if I can find the SE/30 Pivot Card I got for the cable. The SE/30 was a fairly recent, known DOA swap, but I'm pretty sure my card tested good in the IIsi.

Last edited by jt (2015-10-25 05:41:11)

Offline

#7 2015-10-25 05:39:10

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 806

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

I'd been using a straight-through adapter with no switches. On most other classic Macs it will run at 640x480. I've just tried using a different adapter with switches, set it for 16", and I still got the same result.

The only Radius video drivers I can see on the Mac Driver Museum are the Soft Pivot driver, and the drivers for the cards for the Plus/SE/Classic. I found a copy of RadiusWare 3.3 on Gamba's website however it seems that that version is only for NuBus cards.

I'm running System 7.1.1 on the SE/30, given that the card has a copyright date of 1989/1990 should I try maybe 6.08, 7.0 or 7.1?

Offline

#8 2015-10-25 05:45:39

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,378

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

7.0.1* is the gold standard for that era along with 6.0.8 of course.

Odd that 16" didn't work. Time for a MultiScan CRT test! smile

Offline

#9 2015-10-25 05:50:58

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 806

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

Which, sadly I have none of here, since I live in an apartment and all. smile If I were at my parents' place the first monitor I actually would've tried would've been a 14" Mac Colour Display.

On the other hand, when this baby comes I'll be in the position where I'll be able to run VGA into the Sony PVM. That might be a good test.

Offline

#10 2015-10-25 16:02:35

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,378

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

You're not going to be wringing anything in the 60Hz VGA range out of that card. It'll do 640x480 @ 66Hz. I'll try to find my card later. IIRC it was the same as the RCPII/IIsi.

Offline

#11 2016-04-21 01:06:33

Dnal
Member
Registered: 2015-01-03
Posts: 58

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

Wonder why they didn't make this card so it would fit the SE30 or IIsi to begin with...

Last edited by Dnal (2016-04-21 02:59:53)

Offline

#12 2016-06-10 18:46:25

BadGoldEagle
Member
Registered: 2016-06-08
Posts: 13

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

Hi LCGuy.
I know it's been a long time since you last posted about your Pivot SE/30 card. Dunno if you managed to get it working since then but if you haven't... I might have a solution.

I bought myself the same card on ebay recently. I already had the IIsi version and I knew it worked on the SE/30 (IIsi and SE/30 are pretty similar), so I knew this SE/30 specific one had to work with my SE/30. I found the proper drivers and added them on the Mac Garden: http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/driver- … pivot-card


Now about your problem:
First of all, I don't know what software you were using but I know "Slots" can see that card. I don't know why it said you had a Nubus card, because "SE/30 Internal video" is generated by the Mac itself.

Without any drivers, this card won't function properly. It will display the blueish Radius logo and if you're lucky enough it will display your desktop, only with an odd resolution and in monochrome (1 shade of blue). I should point out now that I'm using a Samsung 17" Multiscan LCD. I know this LCD works, because it worked with the IIsi version of that card. And they are really similar. I am using a DB15 to VGA converter like yours but mine has the switches.

The Mac won't see it until you find a correct resolution and monitor.
I couldn't get mine working but I suspect I have corrupted the drivers. Sometimes The Unarchiver corrupts files. But I know these drivers are the right ones since megabyte from 68kmla used these and got it working. Tomorrow I'll try once more with new drivers.

PS: It will even run 7.5 so you don't need to downgrade. 7.1.1 will work fine.


COOL STUFF: Working original 1984 Macintosh complete with accessories and Picasso kit, I'm looking for a G44 mouse though, so it's not that complete, NIB Newton MessagePad from 1993
IN THE WORKS: The outstanding SE/30 (with 50MHz Powercache, Pivot Display Color Graphics) but also Mac Portable M5126, HD40SC, Apple Djinn...

Offline

#13 2016-06-11 02:24:23

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 806

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

Thanks for your reply, I still haven't managed to get much out of it. I tried the driver you posted on Macintosh Garden this morning - didn't get anywhere, apparently the SE/30 isn't a compatible model:

ciF7lYW.jpg

This card is my first experience with Radius gear - I always thought that their stuff was supposed to "just work" lol smile

Offline

#14 2016-06-11 13:52:35

BadGoldEagle
Member
Registered: 2016-06-08
Posts: 13

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

How odd. I'm getting the exact same error.
I'll ask Megabyte how he installed the software. I know one of those extensions is for Mac II only.
We are in the same boat as it turns out wink


COOL STUFF: Working original 1984 Macintosh complete with accessories and Picasso kit, I'm looking for a G44 mouse though, so it's not that complete, NIB Newton MessagePad from 1993
IN THE WORKS: The outstanding SE/30 (with 50MHz Powercache, Pivot Display Color Graphics) but also Mac Portable M5126, HD40SC, Apple Djinn...

Offline

#15 2016-06-12 02:33:12

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,378

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

Isn't Soft Pivot the driver for later Pivots that ran off built in video instead of a dedicated Pivot Card?

Can't locate my card to check. Are there interrupt/Slot ID jumpers like those on the IIsi version? Got conflict?

The IIsi version needs no drivers, I can't imagine the SE/30 version would be any different. I can't think of a single Radius VidCard I've ever had that needed any drivers for basic function.

Last edited by jt (2016-06-12 02:36:03)

Offline

#16 2016-08-27 17:16:52

BadGoldEagle
Member
Registered: 2016-06-08
Posts: 13

Re: Issues with Radius Pivot card in SE/30

I "think" I know what's wrong with those cards.

I did not corrupt the drivers, they were fine.
The Color Pivot is indeed compatible with 7.1 and 7.5.
You only need the ▯Soft Pivot Driver for the card to work.
The Radius Pivot Q&A says the cards are 7.5-friendly if you install SoftPivot 3.2.1.

I think they were wrong. You need Softpivot 3.2.1 AND NEWER ROMS.
Here's a link to a 68kmla thread about a Pivot Card in a Mac II: https://68kmla.org/forums/index.php?/to … d-to-work/
Apparently, with newer ROMs, papa_november was able to get his pivot working.
I have the IIsi version of this card, and I believe it has newer ROMs. I'll try swapping the ROMs and if it works I'll be dumping the known good ROM so you can have a go yourself.


COOL STUFF: Working original 1984 Macintosh complete with accessories and Picasso kit, I'm looking for a G44 mouse though, so it's not that complete, NIB Newton MessagePad from 1993
IN THE WORKS: The outstanding SE/30 (with 50MHz Powercache, Pivot Display Color Graphics) but also Mac Portable M5126, HD40SC, Apple Djinn...

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.