You are not logged in.

#1 2016-07-03 14:52:20

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,108
Website

Got two Pocket CHIP systems (hey, makers, I gotta question)

The Kickstarter I backed finally sent me my two.

http://www.floodgap.com/iv/3028

It's a neat little unit in and of itself; it comes with surf, perl, python, some games in a CHIP-8-inspired VM system called PICO-8, a terminal and a lot of GPIO/XIO lines connecting to an Allwinner (?) ARM core with built-in WiFi and 4GB of internal storage. But the actual unit is $9 and can be connected to a TV or a USB keyboard, though this one was $49 for the keyboard, resistive touch display and LiPo battery pack.

The idea is to connect it to the Tomy Tutor and see if I can use the joystick lines to talk to it. I figured out what pins are what; two are essentially outputs. The protocol is a solveable solution, but I'm a noob at this wires stuff, so some questions. Treat the CHIP as similar to an RPi or whatnot.

- The Tutor is, I'm pretty sure, 5V logic and the CHIP is 3.3V. I know I'll need a voltage divider (or something like the diode-resistor pair on http://jamesreubenknowles.com/level-shi … ments-1741 ) to avoid the Tutor frying the CHIP on inputs. For CHIP to the Tutor, however, the 3.3V should be enough to be seen as a "high" to 5V logic, right?

- To read the controllers, the Tutor puts 5V on the selected line for either controller 1 or 2. This is what I'm abusing as my inputs to the CHIP. Can I just connect these lines straight over to GPIO pins through the voltage-divider-diode-whatever? I don't need a ground line going back to the Tutor, do I?

- Similarly, to send signals back to the Tutor on the controller sense lines, the Tutor would ordinarily read 5V on the switches from the controller. Can I just connect GPIO pins directly to those lines?

Offline

#2 2016-07-03 21:25:27

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Got two Pocket CHIP systems (hey, makers, I gotta question)

awesome! those are so inexpensive.  pretty soon kids at the age of 6 will be programming.!!!!! LOL


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#3 2016-07-05 05:24:24

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,108
Website

Re: Got two Pocket CHIP systems (hey, makers, I gotta question)

Anyone know?

Offline

#4 2016-07-05 17:53:40

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Got two Pocket CHIP systems (hey, makers, I gotta question)

my kid just turned 5 i guess i could work with him and make him a programming pro by 6 lol.


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#5 2016-07-05 20:14:25

LarBob
Member
Registered: 2016-06-22
Posts: 19

Re: Got two Pocket CHIP systems (hey, makers, I gotta question)

uniserver wrote:

my kid just turned 5 i guess i could work with him and make him a programming pro by 6 lol.

He'll be hired by Google at age 7!

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.