You are not logged in.

#1 2016-07-03 14:52:20

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,117
Website

Got two Pocket CHIP systems (hey, makers, I gotta question)

The Kickstarter I backed finally sent me my two.

http://www.floodgap.com/iv/3028

It's a neat little unit in and of itself; it comes with surf, perl, python, some games in a CHIP-8-inspired VM system called PICO-8, a terminal and a lot of GPIO/XIO lines connecting to an Allwinner (?) ARM core with built-in WiFi and 4GB of internal storage. But the actual unit is $9 and can be connected to a TV or a USB keyboard, though this one was $49 for the keyboard, resistive touch display and LiPo battery pack.

The idea is to connect it to the Tomy Tutor and see if I can use the joystick lines to talk to it. I figured out what pins are what; two are essentially outputs. The protocol is a solveable solution, but I'm a noob at this wires stuff, so some questions. Treat the CHIP as similar to an RPi or whatnot.

- The Tutor is, I'm pretty sure, 5V logic and the CHIP is 3.3V. I know I'll need a voltage divider (or something like the diode-resistor pair on http://jamesreubenknowles.com/level-shi … ments-1741 ) to avoid the Tutor frying the CHIP on inputs. For CHIP to the Tutor, however, the 3.3V should be enough to be seen as a "high" to 5V logic, right?

- To read the controllers, the Tutor puts 5V on the selected line for either controller 1 or 2. This is what I'm abusing as my inputs to the CHIP. Can I just connect these lines straight over to GPIO pins through the voltage-divider-diode-whatever? I don't need a ground line going back to the Tutor, do I?

- Similarly, to send signals back to the Tutor on the controller sense lines, the Tutor would ordinarily read 5V on the switches from the controller. Can I just connect GPIO pins directly to those lines?

Offline

#2 2016-07-03 21:25:27

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Got two Pocket CHIP systems (hey, makers, I gotta question)

awesome! those are so inexpensive.  pretty soon kids at the age of 6 will be programming.!!!!! LOL


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#3 2016-07-05 05:24:24

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,117
Website

Re: Got two Pocket CHIP systems (hey, makers, I gotta question)

Anyone know?

Offline

#4 2016-07-05 17:53:40

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Got two Pocket CHIP systems (hey, makers, I gotta question)

my kid just turned 5 i guess i could work with him and make him a programming pro by 6 lol.


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#5 2016-07-05 20:14:25

LarBob
Member
Registered: 2016-06-22
Posts: 19

Re: Got two Pocket CHIP systems (hey, makers, I gotta question)

uniserver wrote:

my kid just turned 5 i guess i could work with him and make him a programming pro by 6 lol.

He'll be hired by Google at age 7!

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.