You are not logged in.

#1 2015-01-18 22:20:36

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,099
Website

Another year, another update to the retro room

Nothing really Apple-related except a Cube waiting for a CPU upgrade, but I'm still proud of the new arrivals.

http://www.floodgap.com/etc/machines.html

Offline

#2 2015-01-18 22:52:32

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

ClassicHasClass wrote:

Nothing really Apple-related except a Cube waiting for a CPU upgrade, but I'm still proud of the new arrivals.

http://www.floodgap.com/etc/machines.html


ghetto halon system lol!!!!  the cube is such a neat computer. I've never owned one... or even been in the presence of a working one, for that matter. Does your CD/DVD drive work ok? I've heard those get stuck up a bit, sometimes.  Is BeBox operational? Nice setup and fun picture/captions to look through-

Offline

#3 2015-01-18 22:53:00

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

Nice!  Out of curiosity, how do you have all the machines on the table with the bebox, cube, indy, etc. setup?  Do you have a KVM for some of them, or just pull them out and hook them up when they're ready to be used?
I've tried to do the KVM thing, which mostly works with suns, adb macs, and ps2 based systems like the indy, using the NTI KVMs, but I noticed you also have the VAXstation there too, which has its own keyboard and mouse system.
I've been going back and forth between elaborate kvm setups and individual setups, and just curious what other people with a similarly heterogeneous collection do.

Offline

#4 2015-01-19 02:31:54

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,099
Website

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

Incidentally, I updated the picture in the server room with a better one (hey, same day, so it counts), and added a picture of the iMac G3 and the CX5M in the music room.

MJ313 wrote:
ClassicHasClass wrote:

Nothing really Apple-related except a Cube waiting for a CPU upgrade, but I'm still proud of the new arrivals.

http://www.floodgap.com/etc/machines.html


ghetto halon system lol!!!!  the cube is such a neat computer. I've never owned one... or even been in the presence of a working one, for that matter. Does your CD/DVD drive work ok? I've heard those get stuck up a bit, sometimes.  Is BeBox operational? Nice setup and fun picture/captions to look through-

I haven't done a lot of testing on the Cube so far (I do have a spare). It's not a lot of use to me in its current configuration, but I'd like to install the 1.8GHz upgrade card I have sitting around, and then it might replace the iMac G4 in the commons. However, I don't have the Sonnet fan, just an aftermarket one of the approximate size that I may have to modify, and I'm not sure of the mounting screws it came with (the connector definitely needs to be adapted; I think I'll wire it into the hard disk line).

The BeBox works nearly perfectly. Its CMOS is iffy, even though the battery has been regularly replaced, but it otherwise fully works. It's a neat machine and noteworthy in that it's an SMP 603 system, something the 603 (and the G3, its descendent) wasn't designed to do!

Offline

#5 2015-01-19 02:47:25

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,099
Website

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

bbraun wrote:

Nice!  Out of curiosity, how do you have all the machines on the table with the bebox, cube, indy, etc. setup?  Do you have a KVM for some of them, or just pull them out and hook them up when they're ready to be used?
I've tried to do the KVM thing, which mostly works with suns, adb macs, and ps2 based systems like the indy, using the NTI KVMs, but I noticed you also have the VAXstation there too, which has its own keyboard and mouse system.
I've been going back and forth between elaborate kvm setups and individual setups, and just curious what other people with a similarly heterogeneous collection do.

Here's how everything's connected:

The G5, the Intel mini, the Fuel and the G4 MDD share a USB-DVI KVM (the Aten CS1764A, which I highly recommend; a superb unit which also worked with a side-car physical USB switchbox for the HP C8000). There is one display and one USB keyboard/mouse set. The Commodore 128 of course has its own keyboard and monitor.

The Amiga 3000, G4 Cube and Indigo2 aren't connected to anything right now. When the A3000 was connected, it was in the A4000T's position (see below).

The VAXstation 3100/M76 uses the Solbourne S3000 as a serial console. It doesn't do console video although it has the SPX option, so it's capable of it (I have an LK401 and a DEC mouse, but I don't have the video connector). The Sol and the Ultra-3 laptop, of course, have their own displays. wink

The complicated part:
The 486, Quadra 800, Power Mac 7300, SGI Indy and Amiga 4000T all share the NEC monitor; there are two keyboard sets, a PS/2 and an ADB; and four mice, a serial bus mouse for the 486 (which just has an AT keyboard port), an ADB mouse, a PS/2 mouse exclusively connected to the BeBox, and an Amiga quadrature mouse exclusively connected to the Amiga. Behind the scenes there are actually three switchboxes. The master box is a silver VGA switchbox just behind the purple mouse next to the BeBox. A is the 7300 (direct to the soft video switcher on the OrangePC card), C is the Quadra ("Cuadra") using a regular DB15-HD15 converter and D is the "D"ownstream systems. When in D position, the PS/2-VGA switchbox sitting on top of the Quadra switches the video and PS/2 keyboard ("A"miga, "B"eBox, "C"GI, "D"OS). The Amiga accepts PS/2 with a Lyra 2 box and puts out VGA through its Picasso card, and the Indy has an active SoG-filter connected to a 13w3-HD15 converter; the 486 and the BeBox connect directly. When in A or C position, the black switchbox directly under the PS/2-VGA switchbox switches the ADB connection (this is actually a 15-position Mac switchbox with DB-15 and ADB connectors which I am criminally underutilizing). So:

Amiga: D, A, don't care
BeBox: D, B, don't care
486: D, D, don't care
Power Mac: A, don't care, A
SGI Indy: D, C, don't care
Quadra: C, don't care, B

Whew!

Offline

#6 2015-01-19 02:48:07

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

ClassicHasClass wrote:

It's a neat machine and noteworthy in that it's an SMP 603 system, something the 603 (and the G3, its descendent) wasn't designed to do!

And BLINKENLIGHTS!!! big_smile

it's a very nice machine you've got there! Nice it's up and running!

Offline

#7 2015-01-19 02:52:01

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,099
Website

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

Yes, everybody loves the light show load average. big_smile

Offline

#8 2015-01-20 06:03:03

Cosmo
Member
From: Vantaa, Finland
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 116

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

Stunning. How you can fit yourself to live there? Or is it huge house? wink

Glad to see the Canon Cat, PET there too.

Offline

#9 2015-01-20 06:22:51

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,099
Website

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

The house is about 2400 square feet. The server room and retroroom take up the two rear bedrooms, leaving a guest room and my bedroom. Also, not married, no kids, one cranky cat. wink

Offline

#10 2015-01-20 14:01:19

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

ClassicHasClass wrote:

The house is about 2400 square feet. The server room and retroroom take up the two rear bedrooms, leaving a guest room and my bedroom. Also, not married, no kids, one cranky cat. wink

Sir, you need a new pedestal for your CC! I would fear for it's life with a cranky cat around tongue

Also, the IISI! Is it still actually 'serving'?? yikes

Offline

#11 2015-01-20 15:49:10

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,099
Website

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

The cat knows better than to mess with the computers. Her only use for them is to sit behind the G5's heat exhaust in winter, and she's been yelled at enough times that she stays out of the server room.

Do you mean the IIci? Yes! It runs NetBSD and handles DNS and AppleTalk services. I had to do a board swap on it when the caps finally blew (thanks uniserver for the recaps), and I just put a new hard disk in it because of bad sectors, but it does the job I need it to and I've got lots of spare parts for it.

Offline

#12 2015-01-21 20:46:44

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

ClassicHasClass wrote:

Do you mean the IIci?

aiyaiyaiy! Yes, i meant the IIci! woops! That's awesome it's still serving. What a great thing, using a vintage Mac to 'serve' such a useful purpose. It's nice the h/w can keep up with the tasks it performs without you just being like "I am going to use this and suffer I shall, for the sake of using an old Mac!". Nope, it works, and that's why you use it. That's great.

Offline

#13 2015-01-21 21:03:30

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,099
Website

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

DNS and AppleTalk aren't terribly demanding, so yeah, it's great for that purpose. When I had a printer I used it for printer sharing as well.

Offline

#14 2015-04-12 20:14:06

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,099
Website

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

Not a "HUGE OMG" score, but a friend of mine who was a long-time Xserve admin was cleaning out his closet and gave me licensed discs of every version of Mac OS X Server from 10.2 through 10.6. The 10.2 version also includes WebObjects and the OS 9 NetBoot components. Combined with my Rhapsody install discs, that's every separately-built OS X Server version ever except the server versions of 10.0 and 10.1, which I've never seen (from 10.7 on, OS X Server became an app running on the OS, not the OS itself).

Offline

#15 2015-04-12 20:37:22

unity
Member
Registered: 2015-01-09
Posts: 81

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

I like software finds too. I try to avoid them though, lot of space that can be used for hardware if I get carried away. I remember using the OS X server betas. Looked like OS 9. We installed it on a B&W G3 with an additional 5-port ethernet card installed. We managed to get roughly 30 macs to net-boot at once. It was SLOWWWW. Really the configuration was not right for the setup and it was mostly experimenting, but it was fun.

Offline

#16 2015-04-13 00:08:21

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,099
Website

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

I actually rather like Rhapsody, warts and all, but it's got a lot of warts.

Offline

#17 2016-03-28 04:06:48

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,099
Website

Re: Another year, another update to the retro room

Bumped for 2016. A lot of new arrivals this last year.

http://www.floodgap.com/etc/machines.html

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.