You are not logged in.

#1 2016-10-02 19:58:58

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

iMac G3 (Rev A -> C) G4 CPU upgrade

Just Posted this over at the "Other" site and thought some of you guys might be interested in it (I'm too lazy to type another post, so this one is just a carbon copy)

It's been a long time coming, But I finally gave this a stab today

I started by removing the old CPU from the card (anyone who dose BGA rework professionally might want to look away, my setup isn't exactly pretty....)
 
IMG_0125.JPG
A overview of the setup, I'm using a griddle as a preheater and a attan 858D as a top heater. It's cheap but it works

IMG_0126.JPG
A close up of the action

IMG_0127.JPG
Phew, Got the chip off without lifting any pads smile

IMG_0128.JPG
The "Victim" - One now unneeded Power PC 750

IMG_0129.JPG
The pads cleaned up nicely, Almost ready for a new CPU

IMG_0137.JPG
Not content with the slightly dodgy method of removing the old CPU, I select my "Weapon" for resoldering. 1600w of uncontrolled heat should do nicley

IMG_0132.JPG
New chip lined up, Also added a little shielding to stop the ram slot melting.

IMG_0133.JPG
One minute thirty seconds later we now have one Power PC 7410 firmly attached to the board.

IMG_0134.JPG
It lives!!!  smile

IMG_0135.JPG
Mac OS 8.6 doesn't quite know what to make of the Chip, I guess nothing that supports 8.6 ever shipped with a Power PC 7410

IMG_0136.JPG
Mac OS 9.2.2 However knows exactly what it is smile

I still need to fiddle with the multiplier jumpers, the chip is a 500mhz part should I should be able to clock it up at least that fast.

Now, I ordered 3 chips, Assuming I would screw it up at least once.... What should be next to go under the knife for a G4 upgrade? smile

Offline

#2 2016-10-02 21:32:46

MacOS Plus
Member
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 103

Re: iMac G3 (Rev A -> C) G4 CPU upgrade

Holy crap!  You're far more brave, or foolish, than even I am!   I don't think I'd have the nerve to try that.  Awesome work though!  I didn't know it was as simple an alteration as that.

Offline

#3 2016-10-03 00:58:22

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 815

Re: iMac G3 (Rev A -> C) G4 CPU upgrade

Thats pretty much how NewerTech made the iMaxPowr upgrades back in the day - they bought up used iMac processor cards, and swapped the G3 for a G4. So yeah, definitely possible but something I would never ever think about, or be brave enough to try myself! Good work smile

Offline

#4 2016-10-03 17:37:29

MacOS Plus
Member
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 103

Re: iMac G3 (Rev A -> C) G4 CPU upgrade

I have a G4 Pismo upgrade CPU and a Titanium PowerBook bumped from 667MHz to 1.2GHz that were both done professionally that way.  What I never understood was how the metal balls in the ball-grid get placed properly.  It seems like a major PITA.

Offline

#5 2016-10-03 18:55:55

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: iMac G3 (Rev A -> C) G4 CPU upgrade

It depends on the board, The iMac was easy as it has a good silkscreen outline of the chip, so you just line the chip up so you can see the outline on all 4 sides of the chip then apply heat

The balls themself will be pre placed on either the chip of the board (usually the chip), The CPU's I brought had the balls already soldered to them so I just had to line the chip up. If the balls aren't already on the chip (or if you a recycling a chip from a old board) you have to use a stencil to place and solder the balls onto the chip (I really suck at this so try to avoid doing it

Offline

#6 2016-10-10 19:25:19

it0uchpods
Member
Registered: 2015-02-16
Posts: 12

Re: iMac G3 (Rev A -> C) G4 CPU upgrade

Awesome stuff!

The only PPC Mac I have is a Mac mini G4.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.