You are not logged in.

#1 2016-07-08 16:22:21

hartleymartin
Member
Registered: 2016-07-08
Posts: 4

PowerMac G5 "bong" but no display?

Hi everyone,

I've just signed onto this forum. I recently got a PowerMac G5. 2003 model, dual 2.0GHz CPU, 4GB of RAM. Listed on eBay as "not working - no hard disk."

Well, I have it all hooked up, put a replacement hard disk into it (had a spare one laying about) and it seems to make the POST (i.e. you hear the "bong") but no matter what I do, I get nothing on the display.

Is it worth the $50 to get a replacement graphics card and try that out? If it cannot be made to work, it's going to have to become a Hackintosh case.

Any suggestions? New graphics card?

Offline

#2 2016-07-09 06:50:42

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,106
Website

Re: PowerMac G5 "bong" but no display?

Assuming none of the front diagnostic LEDs stay lit (one of the red ones will turn on briefly but then extinguish), replacing the graphics card is indeed the first thing I'd try. Remember that it needs a Mac ROM (or to be flashed with one).

The dual 2.0 isn't a bad machine, just not the best of the G5s.

Offline

#3 2016-07-11 17:02:17

hartleymartin
Member
Registered: 2016-07-08
Posts: 4

Re: PowerMac G5 "bong" but no display?

Just managed to score a replacement graphics card on [that auction site] for $23.50 incl. shipping.

Indeed, I have not had any light indicators that there is any hardware problem, so I think it must be a dead graphics card.

It isn't a serious project by any means, but I have spent a little money on it (all in Australian Dollars):

$20 - PowerMac G5 purchase
$12 - PRAM Battery
$8 - Dual-Link DVI Cable
$20 - OSX 10.4 installation disc set
$23.50 - Replacement Graphics Card


$83.50 - Total spend thus far.

If I cannot get it working, I'll get an ATX case conversion kit. The case is far too nice to junk.

If I cannot get it ru

Offline

#4 2016-07-15 12:50:23

hartleymartin
Member
Registered: 2016-07-08
Posts: 4

Re: PowerMac G5 "bong" but no display?

Just sitting pretty, waiting for the card to come in the post.

In the meanwhile, I acquired a 2008 Mac Pro, Quad Core 2.8GHz, 8GB RAM, 640GB HDD, 1TB HDD, and two of the stock 2600XT Video Cards. Theoretically, I could attach four monitors by DVI. Installed OSX 10.11.5, LibreOffice5, FireFox, Chrome, VLC and a bunch of other various programs (one of my other computers is Linux, so I used mostly Linux-based software) and the whole rig runs nicely. The 640GB drive will go into the PowerMac G5, but the graphics cards are not compatible with the G5, so I am still waiting for the one I got on eBay to come in the post.

Also acquired a pair of the 3.0GHz CPUs and their heatsinks, so I can upgrade the Mac Pro. Geekbench3 64-bit scores 5943.

I really like the Aluminium "Cheese-grater" case. Apple should never have changed to the "trash-can" form factor.

Offline

#5 2016-10-16 08:57:00

Schmoburger
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 281
Website

Re: PowerMac G5 "bong" but no display?

How did you go with this mate? Any luck with the video card solving your issue or no dice?

I would probably be inclined to think the issue may go deeper than the graphics card, such as bad solder joints etc... however is worth a try.


Stay hungry... Stay foolish.
G5 2.0DC, Yikes G4/500 Sonnet-Enhanced, B+W G3/450, 9600/200MP, 7600/200, iMacs DVSE Graphite and 600 Snow, 7220/200, WGS 7350/180, 6360/160, 5500/250 DE, Pismo, 2x Lombards, 6100/66DOS, 2x CC's, 3x Pluses, 512K, SE/30, SE Superdrive, 2x Classics, IIvx, IIci, IIsi, 3x LC520, 4x LC575, 5x P580, LC, LCIII, //gs LE, 2x ROM 02 //gs', IIe... and I'm outta characters!

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.