You are not logged in.

#1 2015-12-12 18:37:45

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

I just got back from a week of work travel, and when I got home a black PM5500 was sitting by my door.  The black version seems kind of unusual in the US, although I have seen the posts about the Director's Edition from the Aussie contingent.  But one thing I hadn't seen before is it came with a CSII AAUI card.  I hadn't seen AAUI versions of those cards before.  Then the previous owner apparently used an Apple branded AAUI to full AUI adapter, which includes a large power brick, and then AUI to UTP.  Kind of an odd setup.

Offline

#2 2015-12-13 15:45:02

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,407

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Mmmmm. BLACK!!!!!!! Me has jealous (but no room anyway roll ) that's the only AIO I've ever really wanted. Very curious setup for CSII, AAUI was laid to rest for CSI, what's the copyright date on the card? Is AAUI/AUI inherently better at throughput than 10bT? Might that be a Neanderthaler shot at 10/100?

Offline

#3 2015-12-13 17:28:41

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Yeah, this was to round out my examples of AIO's of the beige era.  Having one (or ten...) of every compact mac is all well and good, but by the time you get into the 5x0 and 5x00's, they take up a lot of volume.  So, a MacTV as a 5x0 representative and this machine as a 5x00 representative will suffice, even if they're not technically beige.  smile

AUI is 10mbps only AFAIK, so by bouncing AAUI through AUI, you're only going to get 10mbps max.  The CSII card is Apple branded, 1996, and it's got a tulip chip on it (but then, everything of that era did, pretty much).  I'll have to take some pictures at some point.  The machine was pretty well setup for AV stuff, in addition to the normal composite/svideo input card and the tuner card, it's got an Avid PCI card plugged into the composite/svideo input card, presumably for hw encoding.

Offline

#4 2015-12-13 19:06:13

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

51.jpg
52.jpg
53.jpg
54.jpg

Offline

#5 2015-12-14 02:23:14

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,407

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

So cool! I've never seen anything connected to the A/V Card board interconnect, especially not that wide version. All of my A/V Cards have the shorter IDC Cable board interconnect.


edit: that AAUI stuff really looks like some kinda kluge. roll

Last edited by jt (2015-12-14 02:25:07)

Offline

#6 2015-12-14 09:16:00

Schmoburger
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 281
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

I actually became immensely facsinated by this machine, as if I am reading correctly that is a 5500/225 with a factory black case. Up until this point, my knowledge was to the effect that the the DE versions of the 5500 were only available in the European market as the 275, and in the Australian market as the 250. Indeed, in searching the web for information on this obscure bastard-child you have aquired, all information I could find indicated that was indeed the case, and that the only Directors Edition machines were the 250 and 275 mhz 5500's in their respective non-US markets, and that the only ones available in the US were the earlier 5400 and 5300-based DE's.

However i decided to take a different tack and search simply for black 5500/225 and whilst details again are very thin on the model, I managed to glean from a relatively reliable (at least in my books) source that the 5500/225 was in fact available in the UK market (and nowhere else at a guess) in a black case or platinum, however it seems it seems the Director's Edition branding was not used in this market. At a guess, I would say the consumer model may have had some of the video gear pre-installed and you simply had the option of a black or white case in the UK private market where it was simply sold as the 5500/225. The education variants were sold as the 5500/ONE (another interesting thing I only learned fairly recently) would likely have lacked it by default, and only been available in platinum.

So, it seems you have been gifted with a somewhat British machine. smile


Stay hungry... Stay foolish.
G5 2.0DC, Yikes G4/500 Sonnet-Enhanced, B+W G3/450, 9600/200MP, 7600/200, iMacs DVSE Graphite and 600 Snow, 7220/200, WGS 7350/180, 6360/160, 5500/250 DE, Pismo, 2x Lombards, 6100/66DOS, 2x CC's, 3x Pluses, 512K, SE/30, SE Superdrive, 2x Classics, IIvx, IIci, IIsi, 3x LC520, 4x LC575, 5x P580, LC, LCIII, //gs LE, 2x ROM 02 //gs', IIe... and I'm outta characters!

Offline

#7 2015-12-14 16:32:13

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,105
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Sexy blackness, but the x400/x500 series are second only to the x200 series as my least favourite Macs. I read somewhere they were the "Power Mac LC" and I think the epithet is spot on.

I only tolerate the TAM for its looks, despite being the same under the hood. I wouldn't turn up my nose at a black 5500, but I was forced to use a 5400 in medical school and I did not enjoy the experience.

Offline

#8 2015-12-14 16:45:21

Eudimorphodon
Member
Registered: 2014-09-02
Posts: 525

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Nicest thing I can say about the 5500s myself is they're *far* less ugly than the "Molar" G3 AIO's that succeeded them.


Flap Different.

Offline

#9 2015-12-14 18:00:35

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,407

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Bottom of that food chain would be the 5XX Dumbo eared FuglyMacs  .  .  .  PTUI!!!!!!!!!!!!! tongue

Offline

#10 2015-12-14 20:45:10

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Thanks for the info Schmo!  Good to know its origins.
These aren't exactly super desirable machines, and the whole 603 era was kind of a wasteland.  But, at least it was PCI instead of one of the ppc nubus atrocities, it's on the unsupported but compatible list for BeOS, and hey it runs Marathon OK!

Offline

#11 2015-12-15 01:55:03

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

It really is very lovely. I haven't run into any vintage black Mac 'in the flesh', in my life. It looks to be in solid shape too! That makes it mor super-dooper rare. 

Edit. Scratch the pedestal comment... wasn't observant enough to see it already has a home on a shelf. tongue

Last edited by MJ313 (2015-12-15 01:57:50)

Offline

#12 2015-12-15 02:59:29

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

I suspect my MacTV would not run Marathon well.

Offline

#13 2015-12-15 03:31:20

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Yeah, all the plastic is pretty good except the panel on the back.  All the clips have broken off, but they seem pretty redundant since it's held in place by screws anyway.
I still haven't found it a permanent home, it's just on the shelf right now because the shelf was one of the few flat places clear of junk and wasn't on the floor.  smile  I have a shelf that goes MacTV, HP 735, G3 AIO, Apple3.  I'd like to put it between the MacTV and the G3 AIO, but there's some other rearrangements that need to happen before that will be practical.  Musical shelves.

The MacTV doesn't play Marathon very well at all.  Slightly better than the color classic, but...  Still not something you'd actually want to play.

Offline

#14 2015-12-15 05:04:06

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,105
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

and hey it runs Marathon OK!

I'm outta here!

Offline

#15 2015-12-15 08:01:32

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 818

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

ClassicHasClass wrote:

Sexy blackness, but the x400/x500 series are second only to the x200 series as my least favourite Macs. I read somewhere they were the "Power Mac LC" and I think the epithet is spot on.

I only tolerate the TAM for its looks, despite being the same under the hood. I wouldn't turn up my nose at a black 5500, but I was forced to use a 5400 in medical school and I did not enjoy the experience.

The 5400 is a huge huge step up from the x200/x300, but a lot of these machines had bugger all RAM, not to mention the 5400 still had the 1MB vampire video that the older Performas had, not to mention that it was only available either with a 120 or 160 Mhz CPU. The 5500 has ATI Rage graphics and is much nicer, especially with a decent amount of RAM.

Offline

#16 2015-12-15 11:26:50

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

ClassicHasClass wrote:

and hey it runs Marathon OK!

I'm outta here!

Frog Blast the Vent Core!

Offline

#17 2015-12-15 17:43:35

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,105
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

*low voice* MARATHON
*air guitar*

Offline

#18 2015-12-20 03:44:04

Schmoburger
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 281
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

I have to follow up a guy on one of these that I found entirely by accident when delivering things to him... opens the garage door and there before me is a 5500 DE... also a 5500 with a sonnet sticker, a boxed G3 B+W and matching boxed CRT, a blueberry ibook and a Pismo.... All for sale. big_smile


Stay hungry... Stay foolish.
G5 2.0DC, Yikes G4/500 Sonnet-Enhanced, B+W G3/450, 9600/200MP, 7600/200, iMacs DVSE Graphite and 600 Snow, 7220/200, WGS 7350/180, 6360/160, 5500/250 DE, Pismo, 2x Lombards, 6100/66DOS, 2x CC's, 3x Pluses, 512K, SE/30, SE Superdrive, 2x Classics, IIvx, IIci, IIsi, 3x LC520, 4x LC575, 5x P580, LC, LCIII, //gs LE, 2x ROM 02 //gs', IIe... and I'm outta characters!

Offline

#19 2015-12-21 15:53:03

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,407

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Haven't seen mention of sexy black peripherals? Licorice rocks.

Very interested in that AVID Card, has it got S-Video input along with Composite? If there's no sound input provided, that along with (downsampled?) display output might explain the interboard connection. Those A/V Card setups are the bombe for everything outside their horrid VidCap capability. The AVID card should do 640x480. I wonder if the AVP window supports output at that resolution through the interconnect. The A/V card pixel doubles 320x240, which is was fine when I used the 6360 and a 21" CRT for watching my VHS collection until I got a 32" 780p TV, but full 640x480 piped into the AVP window would be amazing.

NuBus bottlenecked A/V to the point that VidCap setups had to run their own display, dit the PCI era usher in video displaty across the faster bus?

You should try using Black Beauty as a display for one of your composite output computers, I did that with my Laser 128 a dozen years ago, but never made more than that one toe dip into the Apple// world. It went down the storage room whirlpool ten years ago.

edit: forgot, go Schmo! smile

Last edited by jt (2015-12-21 15:54:30)

Offline

#20 2015-12-21 17:17:10

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Yeah, it came with matching keyboard and mouse, although the original black coiled ADB cable is missing and was replaced with a black svideo cable.  I haven't hooked up much video with it yet, but hopefully over the holidays I'll get around to messing with it some more.  The Avid card does have Svideo.
I had originally intended to use the 840av as the analog video station, although still haven't solved the problem I've been having with the Radius VideoVision Studio.  I'm not super keen on setting up the 5500 as a video editing/capture station, but I would like to be able to use it as a viewing terminal.  I need to spend some time with the physical setup, since if this thing is just in the storage room, or setup in an inconvenient way, I'll just never get around to messing with it.
I haven't set it up on this machine in particular, but in the past when I've used capture cards and the like for displays of computers or game consoles or whatnot, the latency has bothered me but it's possible I'm a little more sensitive to latency than most.

Offline

#21 2015-12-21 17:30:55

Schmoburger
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 281
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

bbraun wrote:

Yeah, it came with matching keyboard and mouse, although the original black coiled ADB cable is missing and was replaced with a black svideo cable.

It looks like what you have been given is a Mac TV keyboard (and possibly mouse), rather than the original keyboard... I say this as the 5500's shipped with an ADK (which has the cable integral to the board, rather than removable and straight, not coileed), which was also black when shipped with the Directors Edition and other black-cased machines, and also shipped with a black version of the ADBMII rodent. This could be seen as either a tad depressing as it isnt the original item, or super exciting because it is by any standard a very rare peripheral you have received with your free Mac. smile

Last edited by Schmoburger (2015-12-21 17:31:51)


Stay hungry... Stay foolish.
G5 2.0DC, Yikes G4/500 Sonnet-Enhanced, B+W G3/450, 9600/200MP, 7600/200, iMacs DVSE Graphite and 600 Snow, 7220/200, WGS 7350/180, 6360/160, 5500/250 DE, Pismo, 2x Lombards, 6100/66DOS, 2x CC's, 3x Pluses, 512K, SE/30, SE Superdrive, 2x Classics, IIvx, IIci, IIsi, 3x LC520, 4x LC575, 5x P580, LC, LCIII, //gs LE, 2x ROM 02 //gs', IIe... and I'm outta characters!

Offline

#22 2015-12-21 19:47:13

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Ah, right, thanks!  I did think it was a bit odd to come with the older style keyboard instead of the design keyboard.  Well, so much the better, since my MacTV didn't come with a keyboard/mouse.  smile

Offline

#23 2015-12-23 20:42:53

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Black PowerMac 5500 & odd ethernet setup

Well, setup the TV tuner on the machine, and it's probably the nicest computer/tuner setup I've used.  Nicer than the ixmicro tuner on the G3.  It's very smooth video within a window.    It has nice controls for channel setup, closed captioning, reminders for tv shows, etc.  I haven't figured out how to do fullscreen without setting the resolution to ~640x480 or so.  But, nice to be able to do it in a window and still be pretty smooth.

But, to have the setup I wanted, I need to get rid of about 9 512ke's!  I don't think setting them in the hallway is a long term solution.

Last edited by bbraun (2015-12-23 20:46:38)

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.