Announcement

After 5 years serving the vintage Apple enthusiast community, ThinkClassic has been marked for closure and is now in caretaker mode. Please see this thread for further information. Please direct any questions, comments and enquiries about the website, management and ownership to this thread.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-05-30 04:49:56

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Apple Macintosh 128k Sad Mac Error

I find that most of the time with the Mac 128K's,  the and Sad Mac Errors are bad ram.

Techkinght had mentioned once, that maybe those Ram chips originally used were rushed to production, and ended up with some impurities
in the silicon, Witch ends up causing Ram Chips to go bad...

Some people suggest that you find out what ram chip is bad.. Remove it.. Install a Socket... Pop a new ram chip in and carry on..
And yes that is one solution...

My Solution is this...  The ram in there is junk.... yes all 16 chips...  If one is bad .. you are going to have more go bad very soon.
So i suggest... Just Changing all the ram!
Yes i know its a big nasty job...    and it is.

But the light at the end of the tunnel is that you will probably never have to worry about it again.
I wouldn't even worry about installing sockets... I feel its unnecessary, add's to your over all cost + opens you up to a future bad connection.
Apple III, must i say more?

Last edited by uniserver (2014-05-30 04:51:00)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#2 2014-05-30 15:23:37

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Apple Macintosh 128k Sad Mac Error

This is just personal preference, but if I pull a DIP chip, I always put a socket in.  The way I figure it, every time I pull out the soldering iron, there's a chance of messing something up real good.  Whether I slip and cut a trace, or maybe I ruined the new chip while installing it by overheating it, or maybe the chip was just DOA to begin with.  Quality sockets can run close to $1 or more each, but I figure my time is worth something too and I really hate spending time diagnosing problems I've caused.
I've socketed the RAM on my 128k because I too have experienced the bad RAM problem on it, but the overwhelming majority of DIP chips I've replaced have been on C64's.  For whatever reason, those 4164's seem particularly failure prone.

Offline

#3 2014-05-30 21:15:17

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Apple Macintosh 128k Sad Mac Error

I bought 1000 4164's  earlier this year.
they are good ones too, Samsung.

If you need some let me know.

Last edited by uniserver (2014-05-30 21:15:39)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.