You are not logged in.

#151 2015-09-01 17:38:01

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

071EA2D9-43E1-49A3-B3C4-2D87F9805861_zpscdnjtklv.jpg

#signsyouhaveaproblem

Offline

#152 2015-09-01 17:56:19

Eudimorphodon
Member
Registered: 2014-09-02
Posts: 525

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Aaagh. And I think it's bad when just one silverfish runs out from under the dresser. You've got a full blown infestation there.


Flap Different.

Offline

#153 2015-09-02 17:58:45

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Okay, so I swapped the LCD panel +  inverter, the CPU, and the keyboard from the 266MHz PDQ over to the 233, and a few of the 233's keyboard keys ended up on the new one. That's the one I'm going to keep; the other will be sold for parts, likely along with the Lombard which is missing more than I feel it's worth to fix (heat sink, EMI shield, keyboard, modem, hard drive caddy & cable)

Last edited by TheWhiteFalcon (2015-09-02 17:59:51)

Offline

#154 2015-09-02 23:36:29

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,117
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

TheWhiteFalcon wrote:

You forgot to separate the boy PowerBooks from the girl PowerBooks. Now, see, when a boy PowerBook meets a girl PowerBook and they like each other very much, then ...

Offline

#155 2015-09-24 15:57:29

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Not a Mac but I have a Three Gee Ess on the way to serve as an iMessage/Music/Podcasts device to ease the strain on my iPhone 6. White 16GB model. I've never owned any iPhones other than the 4 and the 6, and I used iOS 6 for about five minutes, so it will be interesting.

Fun fact; the 3GS is considered Vintage and is no longer supported by Apple except in California.

Last edited by TheWhiteFalcon (2015-09-24 15:58:07)

Offline

#156 2015-09-25 02:47:48

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 600

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Oh? I'm in California! I guess that means my self-supported 3GS can still be supported at the Apple Store? I suspect that's because it runs iOS 6, which is still modern-ish and functional (aside from many apps no longer being compatible). The best things is that it still supports the current iteration of iCloud, for now at least.

Is it the 8, 16, or 32 GB model? Mine's 8 GB, and it's quite cramped.

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#157 2015-09-25 03:02:32

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Oh wow. I was actually using a 3GS as my daily driver right up until early January when I got my 6. I guess its not that surprising though.

Offline

#158 2015-09-27 17:08:52

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

After several hours of fun and games (seriously that was ridiculous) I managed to get the 3GS hactivated and jailbroken.

It didn't work in Snow Leopard, Lion, or Windows 8.1, it did finally work on XP with 32-bit iTunes 11.1.5 (because anything except 11.1.5 or 11.2.1 (or one other 11.1.x) will cause it to fail), the only downside being that it's a tethered jailbreak because p0sixpwn just won't work with mine.

Other fun things were caused by the fact that I got really unlucky and got a Week 41 2009 which happened to have a locked boot loader (one week prior didn't).

That being said, with hactivation you can't get push notifications nor use iMessage, so I'm going to get an AT&T SIM and a SIM tray and just restore it to pure 6.1.6 when I get them. For now it works for music and podcasts.

Offline

#159 2015-09-29 22:03:49

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

I have a freak Mac.

I picked up what looked to be a 17" iMac G4 1GHz. Baseplate said 1GHz, etc. Got it home, spent a while bypassing the firmware and then OS passwords, then started poking around.

The system reported it had a 167MHz FSB, which didn't make any sense, then it showed the GeForce 4MX only had 32MB of VRAM.

Turns out the base is actually a 15" USB 2.0 model, and someone transplanted a 17' monitor onto it.

So yeah, that's fun.

Offline

#160 2015-09-29 23:16:41

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

When I got my 15 inch a lightning storm burnt up the ethernet port the day after the warranty, took it into a third party shop, he backdated the part order and got me a new motherboard for free.  It said it was a different ID once 10.4 came out also.

Offline

#161 2015-10-08 23:36:28

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Tore apart the iMac to clean it and to reseat the arm properly. Whoever did the swap was lazy/incompetent. No thermal paste reapplied to the heat pipes, screws missing in several places. The arm mounts to the chassis with six Torx screws; three were missing entirely and one was loose. I pulled the bracket off and discovered Apple even put two dimples to help make sure the arm was aligned properly.

Back together now, much cleaner, upgraded to 1.256GB of RAM, and the arm is both correctly positioned and no longer leans. smile

Offline

#162 2015-10-23 18:50:01

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Got a pair of 1GB SCSI disks at the thrift store yesterday, $8 total. I'll test them in the Quadra this weekend.

Offline

#163 2015-10-23 19:57:24

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

scsi hard drives at a thrift store? wow thats a find.

Offline

#164 2015-10-23 20:20:46

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

They also had the newer SCA types. Someone cleaned out a box of parts I guess.

Offline

#165 2015-11-21 18:49:47

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Dhhlcnu.jpg

KiYAhiK.jpg

RR1vDJD.jpg

iVz1AbF.jpg

MgepG6e.jpg

OjOfWGu.jpg

yjefMSg.jpg


Pain in the butt to get it all, but I did.

eGtbMqd.jpg

Just have to get that fixed now.

Offline

#166 2015-11-21 22:54:32

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,020
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Very nice set there.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#167 2015-11-22 15:24:29

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,469

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Dammit, you've got me wanting to re-create my 512k, ImageWriter Wide Carriage, ThunderScan, Fontographer  HomeWorkstation now. roll

Offline

#168 2015-11-22 16:30:07

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

With the modem, printer, floppy and mouse, I just need to add speakers and I can fill up every port. smile

Offline

#169 2015-11-23 21:42:52

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Had to reseat the ribbon cable on the AirPort Extreme card in the Air this morning, that seems to have cleared up the "AirPort Not Installed" issue. And I swapped out the crappy DLink for the used AirPort Extreme I bought this summer. Since they replaced all the switches in the building that should keep it from locking up, hopefully.

I kinda look forward to the day when I can just replace all this with proper (read: Not patchwork) stuff but that day isn't today.

Still, when my MacBook went down due to wireless issues and the Air was already down, at least I had a MBP, 12" AlBook and 14" iBook for wireless capable spares, right? big_smile

Last edited by TheWhiteFalcon (2015-11-23 21:43:39)

Offline

#170 2016-01-31 19:04:33

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

I'm not super active with naming systems, but a short list so far:

MacTV: Showtime
Mac Pro: DePowered
MacBook: FauxTen (this runs Windows 10 exclusively)
iMac G4: Jobs&Ive
iBook G3 Clamshell: Bluebook (because it's Indigo, obvs)
iMac G3: Gumdrop
PM 8100: Splinters
TiBook: Carbon-ready
G4 Cube: EPCOT (Experimental Prototype Computer Of Tomorrow)

Offline

#171 2016-01-31 22:33:21

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

TheWhiteFalcon wrote:

iMac G4: Jobs&Ive

Ampersand in a hostname?!  phear.

How's win10 on the macbook treating you?  I experimented with it a bit, and it seemed like win10 on mac hardware ran hot and used up battery.  Win10 in general seems a bit buggy to me, but more in tablet mode than desktop mode I guess.

Offline

#172 2016-01-31 22:39:34

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

No, I dont use those for hostnames, don't worry.

I originally had 8.1 on there, then upgraded to 10. Then 10 1511 update.

First off, the Broadcom wireless drivers for 8.0 and up (same driver) suck. Random disconnects every few minutes and dialup speeds. So you have to install the 7 driver and that alleviates the issues. This seems to affect all Macs from that era.

Then, some time after 1511 came out, Windows would decide at random that I no longer had a wireless card installed. That persisted for weeks until a new patch launched (unrelated) which solved the issue.

A few weeks ago I ripped out the 5400RPM disk and put in an mSATA card on an adapter, and did a fresh install, which has helped it a lot. My main complaint now is that the trackpad motion in 10 just isn't as nice as OS X, no matter how much tweaking I do.

The fan does kick up more frequently than under OS X, however I suspect at least some of that is because Apple prefers quiet vs "just get it done" by Microsoft.

Last edited by TheWhiteFalcon (2016-01-31 22:40:27)

Offline

#173 2016-06-27 21:45:31

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

So the battery in my 2008 MacBook Air died on me. It wasn't even two years old and it was a Newertech replacement, so I'm not exactly thrilled with the performance for the price.

I found what looks to be a good condition 2010 white Unibody MacBook for a good price and ordered it. It'll need more RAM and an SSD but overall, I'm hopeful it can become my primary laptop since my needs are light. At least I'll be back on current OS X (and soon, macOS) and I can upgrade to Office 2016 for Mac.

Offline

#174 2016-06-28 01:40:39

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Wouldnt it be something if the new MacOS could run legacy software? lol  I would be tickled.  Just slid in as a tid bit.

Offline

#175 2016-06-28 03:27:24

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 600

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

macdrone wrote:

Wouldnt it be something if the new MacOS could run legacy software? lol  I would be tickled.  Just slid in as a tid bit.

That would be nice, but I doubt Apple will ever do that.

If someone could somehow reverse engineer/hack/strip out the bits of Rosetta from Snow Leopard and get them to work reasonably well in newer versions of Mac OS X/OS X/macOS, that would be most excellent!

However, such a project would definitely be very non-trivial I would think, so it probably won't happen (something similar, perhaps?)

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.