You are not logged in.

#51 2015-05-27 15:17:36

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

I'm hopeful I got the install in the 12" AlBook fixed. I checked it with the QuickSilver and it reported a damaged header, so I repaired it. That didn't seem to do much despite claiming it was fixed, so today I hooked it up to my MBP (perhaps Tiger can't repair a Leopard disk, who knows) and it reported the same error. Sat there and had it repair the disk five times, after the first it showed green but I'd read it can help to do it a little extra. Then I rebooted the 12", let it re-index the drive, and then checked it again (over TDM), where it showed it being green.

This thing feels noticeably faster. Hardly any beachballs now, browsing is faster and smoother, Office v.X loads quicker, etc. It probably wouldn't hurt to just wipe the drive (or swap it with another spare, this one has an annoying noise) and then install Leopard freshly, but it's gone from "ugh, you poor thing" to "huh, this is mostly usable".

Offline

#52 2015-05-29 16:53:57

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

All right, here's how things stand.

The 1.67GHz 17" PB, (in a case for a 1.33), works without issue. However, it has the following list of problems.

1. It'll need a new sound board plus the cable.
2. The keyboard had liquid (coke or coffee) spilled on it at one point. U and N don't work, nor does the backlighting.
3. PC Card cage and assembly is gone.
4. Modem card is gone (woo....)
5. Perhaps the most serious issue, the internal frame is cracked where the LCD assembly meets the heat sink. So the left hinge is bending the frame out.

I think this one might remain "curiosity", or perhaps someone will want it and will use it with an external display, KBD and mouse (though the trackpad works fine).

The 1.33GHz, in a 1.0 case, works mostly. However, sometimes it freezes without seeming cause, and the display has a damaged patch of crystals.
The other issue is that every single component except the logic board is for a 1.0. And that doesn't work. This is also why the trackpad doesn't work (keyboard does). I'd thought it was a 1.33 keyboard until I realized it had the cooling pad on it meant for the L3 cache on the 1.0 model.

So, my plan:
Order a 1.0 logic board and stick it in the 1.0 unit where it belongs. I know that seems odd, since the 1.0 is the only one that doesn't support CI, but I think that'll be the best overall. Plus I liked my 1.0.
Look at replacing the HS assembly on the 1.67, possibly getting some other components and making it more complete.
The 1.67 repair will depend greatly on cost. Some parts (like the PC card cage) are dirt cheap, so it makes sense to add them in. I don't want to drop a ton on it though, with as many issues as it has.

If I decide to gut it, I"ll swap the screen over to my soon to be 1.0 and sell the 1.67 and 1.33 logic boards (the 1.33 probably extra cheap just because I don't know if the freezing is because it's having issues).

Offline

#53 2015-06-26 05:03:46

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

There's a new egg coming to the nest soon. big_smile

Offline

#54 2015-06-26 21:20:42

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 571

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

I might be interested in your 1.33 GHz 17" board, as I have one whose locking tab is missing from the keyboard connector (which, as you probably guessed, means the keyboard doesn't work too well).

If it turns out your board is broken, it doesn't matter, as that locking tab is all I need (besides, I don't want to replace my current 1.33 GHz board, as I have reason to believe that it's a DVT prototype).

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#55 2015-06-26 21:24:22

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

I'm thinking my connector is present but kinda iffy too. It locks but when you unlock it the piece slides out.

Offline

#56 2015-06-26 23:32:32

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 571

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Yeah. All I want is that piece (locking bar?). I don't care if it falls out when I unlock it, as once I get one on there, I don't plan on unlocking it very often, if at all.

By the way, what is this "egg" you speak of?

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#57 2015-06-27 01:03:35

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

It was sent out this morning. Should be here like Tuesday. It's one I've been wanting for a while.

Offline

#58 2015-06-27 17:10:26

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 571

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Is it a TAM?

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#59 2015-06-27 18:54:53

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Oh gosh no, I can't afford one of those lol.

It's not on my Wanted list at the MLA.

Offline

#60 2015-06-28 19:02:20

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

No guesses?

I'll narrow it down a lot; it has an auto-inject floppy and a hard drive. I get it tomorrow.

Last edited by TheWhiteFalcon (2015-06-28 19:02:43)

Offline

#61 2015-06-28 22:41:22

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 571

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Well, then. Is it a big-box II of some kind?

It must be super special if you're so excited smile

A IIfx? Original II??

Any more hints?

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#62 2015-06-28 22:50:40

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

It's single floppy. And it doesn't have a monitor.

Offline

#63 2015-06-28 22:55:41

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Quadra 950 maybe?

Offline

#64 2015-06-28 23:08:59

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Eh...how to narrow this down without giving it fully away.

It didn't have an integrated FPU.

Offline

#65 2015-06-29 00:26:04

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

I think you were looking for an 020... that would narrow it down a tad.

Offline

#66 2015-06-29 01:59:43

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,407

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

IIv_ POS? tongue

Offline

#67 2015-06-29 02:03:27

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 571

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Does it have an FPU?

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#68 2015-06-29 02:40:17

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

It does have an FPU now.

Offline

#69 2015-06-29 11:05:34

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,407

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

That likely narrows it down to a 68040/680LC040 swap.
Your MacTV commentary sounds like it's probably still teats up.

To get a Sony remote up and running, I'm thinking you've transplanted the real deal into a lobotomized/consumerized Quadra 630 variant's socket.

Last edited by jt (2015-06-29 11:07:04)

Offline

#70 2015-06-29 13:16:58

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

My Newton has the requisite remote software; though if I'm honest I suspect my Bravia's remote will work fine. Yes, the TV is still sitting gently, waiting for the future.

It's not an 040. Not an 020 either. big_smile

Offline

#71 2015-06-29 14:06:37

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

TheWhiteFalcon wrote:

It's not an 040. Not an 020 either. big_smile

LCIII??

Offline

#72 2015-06-29 14:41:19

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Nope.

Offline

#73 2015-06-29 16:29:41

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 571

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

How much RAM does it have? What is the maximum??

Is the hard drive stock, or was it added later???

Is it some sort of special IIsi???? That's the only one I can think of that didn't originally ship with an FPU, but could have one added, has one auto-inject floppy drive and one hard drive, and is an 68030.

It could also be a IIvi, I suppose, as that fits the available facts as well.

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#74 2015-06-29 16:36:13

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Stock hard drive.

65MB RAM cap. big_smile

Offline

#75 2015-06-29 17:16:04

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

It must be a IIsi, that's the only one I can find with a 65mb ram cap.....

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.