You are not logged in.

#26 2015-05-12 00:08:50

MinerAl
Member
From: The not-so-great plains
Registered: 2014-08-26
Posts: 69

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Sweet.

Looks like a little careful Kragl-ing could get your crack minimized.

Always bugged me that they didn't bother to put black faced CD drives in the Mac TVs.  "Steve Jobs would never have done this!"

Offline

#27 2015-05-12 00:16:57

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,085
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

One of my latest eBay finds was pretty much everything that makes a MacTV except the MacTV: it included the CD, the tuner, the black keyboard and mouse and the cables. I guess I could find an LC580 and make it suck. smile

Offline

#28 2015-05-12 00:41:12

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

You certainly could!

Ironically, I'm somewhat more interested in using the TV functions at this point, I have visions of hooking up my 360 and loading up Reach for kicks. It'd also give me something to play Duck Hunt on.

Offline

#29 2015-05-12 01:07:49

volvo242gt
Member
From: Duvall, WA
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 406
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

I guess it wouldn't be too hard to turn the 8100/110 machine into a 7100/110...  With those machines being mainly metal, there's not much Spindler® going on.  I suspect that, like the 650 and the 800, there probably isn't much different between the 7100 and the 8100, board-wise.  You'd need to extend the speaker harness and pilfer the power LED from the 8100 case, then mount said item to the chassis where the normal lightstick goes on the 7100.

Anyway, nice scores...


68K: Q650 48/1.2G/CD
modern: Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 6GB/500G/DVD-RW, A1150 MBP 2GHz CD, 2GB/80G/DVD-RW
Pre-Mac: ][+, //e
other: iPhone 6s 128GB Space Gray

Offline

#30 2015-05-12 04:57:34

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 950
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

I have two Mac TV logic boards and neither work. Even after a recap. As for the case, it was smashed in shipping sad

Finding one for $50 is pretty incredible, Falcon.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#31 2015-05-12 05:10:59

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

I am torn between recapping this or just sticking a 5xx board inside. The good news is there's minimal cap damage, so I think it would work with a recap, but I can't guarantee that. At least the other parts work, and a check of the analog board showed no cap damage.

I don't have the official remote, but I'm betting that the Sony Remote app on my 2100 will work just fine with it.

Offline

#32 2015-05-12 11:22:57

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 810

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

The Sony remote app, or indeed any remote control that is coded for older Sony hardware should work fine. For years I used a remote from a Sony HiFi system on my LC630 to control the volume, audio CDs, and open and close Apple Video Player.

Or if you have the later Apple remote from the Apple Video System, or from a PowerPC Performa, that will also work fine.

Offline

#33 2015-05-12 12:13:53

Schmoburger
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 281
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Yep I used a Sony TV remote from the mid 90's on my 5500 and it quite an impressive scope of functionality. smile


Stay hungry... Stay foolish.
G5 2.0DC, Yikes G4/500 Sonnet-Enhanced, B+W G3/450, 9600/200MP, 7600/200, iMacs DVSE Graphite and 600 Snow, 7220/200, WGS 7350/180, 6360/160, 5500/250 DE, Pismo, 2x Lombards, 6100/66DOS, 2x CC's, 3x Pluses, 512K, SE/30, SE Superdrive, 2x Classics, IIvx, IIci, IIsi, 3x LC520, 4x LC575, 5x P580, LC, LCIII, //gs LE, 2x ROM 02 //gs', IIe... and I'm outta characters!

Offline

#34 2015-05-16 23:14:45

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

ADB846CB-E571-4C2F-996B-061809BB075B_zpsssz5anz0.jpg

I can't wait to get it working. I may do a full dunk on the board soon.

Offline

#35 2015-05-18 19:03:32

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

So apparently without the two little screws holding the ODD adapter board to the drive, a G4 Cube will play dead.

Offline

#36 2015-05-18 19:54:22

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 950
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Interesting note. I don't think I've ever heard that one before.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#37 2015-05-18 20:26:58

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

When I tore apart the drive last week to try Hap's drive wheel trick, I reassembled it and realized I'd forgotten those two. Hooked the system up today and no dice. Remembered the screws, put them in (while checking and verifying the power board connection was tight - it was) and it booted up that time. Weirdest thing.

Offline

#38 2015-05-18 21:27:23

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 227

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Um my drive is wedged in with plastic in my cube to correctly line up a dvd drive from a G5 iMac and it works with boot.  I am thinking while you took it apart and put it together you slid things into more correct insertion and alignment.

Offline

#39 2015-05-18 22:07:14

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

But is the actual controller board wedged, or is it attached properly?

Offline

#40 2015-05-20 18:25:13

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but bad RAM can cause system lockups, correct? The 8100 reports a RAM issue and it freezes randomly, and I'm thinking that's the issue.

Of course I cant get at it easy and there are four pairs to test...

Offline

#41 2015-05-20 21:01:29

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 950
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Yeah and don't breathe wrong or the plastic will shatter on you.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#42 2015-05-20 21:05:58

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

True that, more chunks fell out. Garbage case.

I've narrowed it down to one of the 4MB or one of the 16MB sticks. I'm hoping it's a 4MB unit.

With the bad RAM out it runs just peachy! I need to get Clasilla on it but IE5 works for the most part.

Offline

#43 2015-05-21 03:16:36

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

All right, I started to make this post on the 8100 in Classilla but at 1 character per second I couldn't take it.

So one of the 16MB sticks is bad. So I have 96MB of RAM now instead of 128. For 8.6 that's enough.

Case from hell doesnt even begin to describe it. I would love to shove this board in another case.

Internet performance is good enough that I can use this as a bridge Mac though, at least in a pinch.

Offline

#44 2015-05-21 05:51:24

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,085
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Yeah, on my G3 upgraded systems it's just barely tolerable. Sorry. I haven't found the bug yet.

Offline

#45 2015-05-21 13:04:41

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

The fact we have an upgraded browser is good enough IMO, it's not like I'm serious about using it daily.

Actually I may try it on my TiBook, I use Classilla there but I haven't visited here.

I was surprised how well IE5 still works. The only problem I had was that it couldn't download Classilla, I had to get iCab for that.

Offline

#46 2015-05-21 15:20:35

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Well, performance is good enough, but something tells me that a G4 isn't the typical setup for Classilla. smile

Offline

#47 2015-05-21 16:14:15

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,085
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

It mostly escaped my notice because on the 1.8GHz MDD G4 ... you don't notice in OS 9. smile

Offline

#48 2015-05-24 04:26:32

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

Yesterday I scrubbed the MacTV board in a three stage process; vinegar/water blend, 91% IPA, and then plain distilled water to finish, tootbrush on all three stages. Still doesn't work but it's a nice sparkly clean board now!

Did the same to the SE/30 board today. I got about 95% of the corrosion off the chip leads(a few were green and fungal looking) Broke off the C6 and C13 caps by accident, thankfully the pads are still on the board. (Honestly I'm not sure C13 was that well attached to begin with) Not sure what those do (C13 looked like it was for the PDS slot) but the system still works as before. Unfortunately there's still no sound output and it still has the vertical lines in the video.

Offline

#49 2015-05-24 04:44:34

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 950
Website

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

I've said it before but I think I'm cursed as far as Mac TV goes. The case on mine was cracked in shipping and I have two DOA logic boards I haven't been able to fix. I wish you better on your TV than mine. At least I have the keyboard, mouse, remote control and install disc so I guess that's some consolation.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#50 2015-05-24 04:50:01

TheWhiteFalcon
Member
Registered: 2015-04-27
Posts: 504

Re: Falcon's Nest o'Macs

While I would like to have it as a MacTV I'm not opposed to shoving another board in just to get it working. Since I like the case design.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.