Announcement

After 5 years serving the vintage Apple enthusiast community, ThinkClassic has been marked for closure and is now in caretaker mode. Please see this thread for further information. Please direct any questions, comments and enquiries about the website, management and ownership to this thread.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-19 01:02:10

360alaska
Member
Registered: 2014-12-04
Posts: 15

Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

Hello all,

I was wondering how to slim up System 6.0.8 for rom use when it occurred to me to see if I could use finder 5.5 with system 6.0.8 and sure enough it worked! The downside is that chooser is not available, but that doesn't bother me.  Anyhow, using finder 5.5 with system 6.0.8 saves you 80k.


UPDATE: I have removed some resources from the mouse control panel saving a whopping 2k!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_Xp3u … sp=sharing

Last edited by 360alaska (2015-02-19 01:05:43)

Offline

#2 2015-02-19 02:00:05

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

Nice, I was thinking about this too recently, and made this on mac68k.info.  Basically I'm thinking if you start with the same System version as the ROM (usually the one the machine was released with), you can remove any resources from the System file that are also present in the ROM, including drivers, icons, etc.

Offline

#3 2015-02-19 02:29:09

360alaska
Member
Registered: 2014-12-04
Posts: 15

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

Man, you guys outta make some for Classic IIs! Too bad you'll have to make two versions though...

Last edited by 360alaska (2015-02-19 03:03:44)

Offline

#4 2015-02-19 04:07:35

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

I've never had a Classic II, but don't they have some weird connector for ROM expansion?  Are those connectors even available these days?
Just like the Portable, it should be possible to just make a .EDisk disk image and it'd just work, the same way the Classic's does.  Speaking of, totally should get a Portable sometime.

Offline

#5 2015-02-19 09:46:42

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

Yep, the FPU slot doubles as a ROM expansion slot. Page 27 onwards in the Developer Note has the details on it.

Offline

#6 2015-02-19 16:47:48

360alaska
Member
Registered: 2014-12-04
Posts: 15

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

3430442399_060bf227f9.jpg

Revision 1 Classic II LB

after.jpg

Revision 2 Classic II LB


I was thinking of just replacing the roms that are there, only problem is that you'd have to make two versions... There's a jumper on the side for 4 meg roms. Anyways, Both of my classic II's are Rev2 Logic boards... I could lend a logic board so you can try to make some roms if you want...

Offline

#7 2015-02-19 17:14:24

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

Replacing the stock ROM chips is only really interesting if extra capacity can be added, IMO.  That'd require additional address lines to be strung, which is a lot more complicated on these than on the old DIP 68000 of the Plus.  There's similar issues with the LC's.  Since the socket is intended for ROM expansion, it seems like that'd be the way to go.
Is that FPU/ROM socket just a 2.54mm header?  I was more worried about being able to find a weird connector, but if just some female headers will work, that makes it pretty easy.

Interesting, but I'm not sure I'd get around to it any time soon.

Offline

#8 2015-02-19 17:34:47

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

yes i think over at mac68k  bbraun really has the right idea to custom reduce the size of an system install in rom disk!
i guess all it would take is someone to make an image for the    128 / 512 / plus / SE / CII / LC / LCII  :-)
should we stop there or try to screw with the LC III, 520 /550?   lol  605/475 ???

Last edited by uniserver (2015-02-19 17:35:21)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#9 2015-02-19 17:40:04

MinerAl
Member
From: The not-so-great plains
Registered: 2014-08-26
Posts: 73

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

I seem to recall Uni(?) verified that the expansion slot on the CII was compatible with a plain old SCSI HD ribbon connector.

Offline

#10 2015-02-19 21:07:12

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

yup that is true it is smile  so you could use female dual row IDC.


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#11 2015-02-20 18:12:52

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

The Classic II's FPU/ROM slot seems identical to the Classic's RAM slot, it's just that neither are applicable to the Classic.  No FPU for the 68000, and the Classic already has the ROM disk.  But it still seems like it could be used for other peripherals.  I only mention it because I actually have a Classic, and I just brought it out to take a look and compare.

Offline

#12 2015-02-20 20:01:40

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

Well, not identical.  44 pins vs 50 pins.  And it only goes up to A9 address lines.

Offline

#13 2015-02-21 01:25:05

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Slimmed 6.0.8 for rom use

360alaska wrote:

Hello all,

I was wondering how to slim up System 6.0.8 for rom use when it occurred to me to see if I could use finder 5.5 with system 6.0.8 and sure enough it worked! The downside is that chooser is not available, but that doesn't bother me.  Anyhow, using finder 5.5 with system 6.0.8 saves you 80k.


UPDATE: I have removed some resources from the mouse control panel saving a whopping 2k!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_Xp3u … sp=sharing

Just a note, 6.0.8. Will actually run fine with finder 1.0 (or was it 1.1? It was whatever is on the system 1.1 disk) I tried it many years ago. Not that it is of any real use, but it's worth noteing

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.