Announcement

After 5 years serving the vintage Apple enthusiast community, ThinkClassic has been marked for closure and is now in caretaker mode. Please see this thread for further information. Please direct any questions, comments and enquiries about the website, management and ownership to this thread.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-01-12 14:51:39

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

SCSI 10k drive issue

So, I have a couple of these 10k drives from Uniserver. One is attached to Max's awesome active adapter and that's working perfectly in my SE/30. The other... not so much.

So I have a passive adapter, and I have tried this 10k drive and adapter in both my 475 and my 7600. I've attached the terminator on the LB when using it in my 475. I don't think it's a termination issue (but I am not sure), but I can't get neither the 7.5.3 special HD utility, nor drive setup in OS 9.1 to see the hard drive. I always get the warning that a suitable SCSI drive couldn't be found. The hard drive is powered up just fine though... odd.

Is there some other utility that might work better that might 'see' the drive? Or is this a SCSI voodoo issue?

I'm just trying to format the little guy.

Thanks for any input!

Last edited by MJ313 (2015-01-12 14:52:31)

Offline

#2 2015-01-12 15:45:25

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: SCSI 10k drive issue

I'd  format it in the SE/30 with Max's active terminator with what you've tried so far, if you haven't gone the PITA route. That way you'd have a known good configuration. I've yet to hear of these drives being faulty and since both are identical drives from uni, incompatibility can't be the issue. He knows his stuff and the other drive has proved that point.

I've been using Hard Disk Toolkit since I got the pile of APS goodies for my store bought Powerbook 100. Lots of folks use and recommend Silverlining.

Offline

#3 2015-01-12 15:51:43

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: SCSI 10k drive issue

This drive did work at some point, and I know I tried formatting it with 9.1's disk setup at some point. I don't know if that fouled it in some way. I don't know if formatting it with the 9.1 disk setup would prohibit 7.5.3 special hd setup utility from working now?  Would anyone have any thoughts on that before I take the SE/30 apart?

ooof taking SE/30 apart... sighhhh sad

Last edited by MJ313 (2015-01-12 15:52:31)

Offline

#4 2015-01-12 16:38:47

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: SCSI 10k drive issue

lol If that's your reaction to the notion, you need the practice anyway! wink

Offline

#5 2015-01-12 16:49:08

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: SCSI 10k drive issue

jt wrote:

lol If that's your reaction to the notion, you need the practice anyway! wink

My reaction was actually more along the lines of...

http://nooooooooooooooo.com/

Offline

#6 2015-01-12 18:21:00

ScutBoy
Member
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 159

Re: SCSI 10k drive issue

I've been using the same 10K Savvio drives with 50pin -> SCA adapters and passive in-line terminators. The only consistent thing I can tell you is that there is no consistency on whether you need the terminator or  not, or where in the chain it should go.

I have one machine that only works without the terminator present. I don't even want to think what will happen when I try and connect an external device. Sometimes I need the terminator at the adapter with the drive, and sometimes at another place on the chain when I have more than one internal device (I'm using these in some Sun machines and NeXTs as well).

So, like it was in the old days, you may just have to experiment a bit and find a config that works. There's a reason the term "SCSI Voodoo" came into existence.

Have to add - when the drives work, they work _great_.

Last edited by ScutBoy (2015-01-12 18:21:27)

Offline

#7 2015-01-12 21:12:39

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: SCSI 10k drive issue

ScutBoy wrote:

I've been using the same 10K Savvio drives with 50pin -> SCA adapters and passive in-line terminators. The only consistent thing I can tell you is that there is no consistency on whether you need the terminator or  not, or where in the chain it should go.

big_smile

I think that's why I put this thing away a couple months ago when I was having issues with it in the first place. It was pretty flaky in my 7600, with a bunch of different settings. I brought it back out because I was hoping the older 475 might play nicer with it... except maybe my messing around with it back then pushed it to the brink... maybe over.

I will try the SE/30 to at least see if I can get it formatted, and then if that's successful I will bring it back to the 475 and see if I can get the SCSI biz worked out smile

It would be nice to get it working; the SCSI drive in the 475 is a screamer.

Offline

#8 2015-01-12 21:25:25

markyb
Member
From: Aurora, OH (330)
Registered: 2014-05-16
Posts: 185
Website

Re: SCSI 10k drive issue

I was having a similar issue with one of these drives, an adapter from max, a PCI SCSI card, and the Power Mac G3 B&W. I wanted to format it in OS 8 or 9 and copy my system 7 backups to it, but it is having an issue. If anything tried to access the drive, for any reason, the system would halt until that program or whatever was force closed.
Don't know if it's the hard drive, the adapter or the SCSI card, and nothing else around to test.  I have an SE FDHD that I can put it in but it's not partitioned and system 7 can't see it with the tools I have. I gave up some months ago.


http://markyb86.weebly.com for some packs of old macintosh wallpapers, desktop patterns, windows wallpapers, sound files, etc.

Offline

#9 2015-01-12 22:54:27

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: SCSI 10k drive issue

MJ313 wrote:

I will try the SE/30 to at least see if I can get it formatted, and then if that's successful I will bring it back to the 475 and see if I can get the SCSI biz worked out smile

It would be nice to get it working; the SCSI drive in the 475 is a screamer.

Don't forget to investigate from the other direction by first using that screamer to boot (or not) the 475 in its currently Voodoo'd(?) config. wink In the case that the SE/30's OS install as is can't boot the 475, go the Disk Tools Floppy boot route to see if it's at least visible on the 475's SCSI chain.

Offline

#10 2015-01-14 23:28:09

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: SCSI 10k drive issue

OK, I cracked the SE/30. I totally misremembered.. It wasn't as bad as I feared. For some reason I thought I was going to have to remove a drive cage and/or logic board. Fears totally unfounded.

So... failure.
I unplugged the adapter from the working drive, plugged it immediately and directly into the non-working drive. Left everything else the same. I booted from the 7.5.3 Boot Disk Image /w 7.5.3 (Patched) HD SC Setup and launched the Patched HDSC utility... the utility saw nothing. Came up with "No suitable scsi devices found" or something to that effect. The drive gets power and hums.. and when I ask the utlity to search for SCSI Device, the drive makes a click noise...  but then I get the No SCSI devices error.

weird. Maybe I wrecked it afterall.

Last edited by MJ313 (2015-01-15 02:34:07)

Offline

#11 2015-01-19 21:17:07

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: SCSI 10k drive issue

after further, finer review, this sums it up pretty well smile


End thread.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.