Announcement

After 5 years serving the vintage Apple enthusiast community, ThinkClassic has been marked for closure and is now in caretaker mode. Please see this thread for further information. Please direct any questions, comments and enquiries about the website, management and ownership to this thread.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-01-03 13:05:29

Dnal
Member
Registered: 2015-01-03
Posts: 59

SE Power

Hello,

New to the forum here and getting my old mac stuff up and running again. I have a 9600/500(G3) and a 6100/60av working, now on to the LCII (need a recap).

I also picked up a Color Classic and an SE-FDHD off craigslist.  The CC is in an unknown state (needs a recap, but possibly more).

The SE works, but has an odd issue.  With the HD plugged into the analog board, it seems to lose power and throw errors.  I have it routed out the expansion port and an external power supply hooked up.  It works that way, but would like to get it back in the box.

Trying to figure out if this is a PS issue, analog board issue (need solder reflow?) or something else.

Thoughts?

Dnal

Offline

#2 2015-01-03 13:55:41

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: SE Power

Almost certainly caps, replace the caps of the SE's Analog board and PSU and you should be good

Offline

#3 2015-01-03 19:47:01

Dnal
Member
Registered: 2015-01-03
Posts: 59

Re: SE Power

Cool.  I will give that a try.  Just did a recap on the CC.  Went perfectly and fired up on the first try...minus the hard drive.  Pulled it and shook it a bit and it fired up too.  Now what to do with it???

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.