You are not logged in.

#1 2014-05-23 08:44:09

TheMacGuy
Member
From: Phoenix
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 48

Cube acting funky when powered up?

So my G4 Cube was finally running great, I set it up on a shelf and let it become a display piece. So I pulled it down and tried to use it with my 15" Studio Display. For some reason, whenever the Cube would come under any sort of load (for instance, booting from a CD or running an app) it would turn off, then after 30 seconds the power button would flutter back to life.

I thought maybe the power button gasket was wearing out, so I used a piece of an anti-static bag but the same issue kept occurring. Anything else I can try?

Last edited by TheMacGuy (2014-05-23 08:44:46)


Click here to see my machines.
"Good guys always prevail"

Offline

#2 2014-05-23 10:22:31

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Cube acting funky when powered up?

I think you have a failing VRM… they are kind of a common part to go on those.

I could be incorrect… but that is my hunch.


Or the VRM is not failing… but maybe the ability for it to stay cool is the issue?


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#3 2014-05-23 16:35:43

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Cube acting funky when powered up?

I think Uni is on the right track. Try using it with an externally-powered display instead of your Studio Display. That should lighten the load on the VRM and give you a better indication of whether that's the issue or not.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#4 2014-05-23 17:53:14

TheMacGuy
Member
From: Phoenix
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 48

Re: Cube acting funky when powered up?

Thanks guys! I will give both ideas a try. I have a small USB powered fan I can stick under it and a VGA monitor hanging around somewhere I can try.


Click here to see my machines.
"Good guys always prevail"

Offline

#5 2014-05-23 18:38:13

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Cube acting funky when powered up?

The point is NOT to use any more power than you have to. A USB-powered fan is the opposite of what you want. The 15" Studio also draws power from the Cube. If it gets better with less of a load, you know that the VRM is having trouble keeping up.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#6 2014-05-23 19:05:02

TheMacGuy
Member
From: Phoenix
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 48

Re: Cube acting funky when powered up?

I know, I was going to plug it in to a external power source (in this case, an iPad Power Adapter).


Click here to see my machines.
"Good guys always prevail"

Offline

#7 2014-05-23 20:45:26

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Cube acting funky when powered up?

Ah, all is good then!


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#8 2014-05-23 21:25:44

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Cube acting funky when powered up?

the cube should have came with a fan…..   silly...

Last edited by uniserver (2014-05-23 21:27:02)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.