Announcement

After 5 years serving the vintage Apple enthusiast community, ThinkClassic has been marked for closure and is now in caretaker mode. Please see this thread for further information. Please direct any questions, comments and enquiries about the website, management and ownership to this thread.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-11-27 07:02:12

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

After my success at making a fan mounting bracket in openscad and 3D printing it, I decided to try a slightly more ambitious project: to make a replacement for the Interrupt & Reset buttons for the early compacts.  I've got several, but they seem to be pretty brittle, and will always break if you forget to remove them before trying to open the case.  So, replacements seemed like a good idea.  Here's my first attempt:
plusbuttonsmodel.png
plusbuttons1.jpg

Pay no attention to the roughness on the surface of the printed buttons, that's where the supports were placed in this printing, mainly because I was more concerned about the fit of the rest of the pieces than the cosmetics of the button surface.
It seems to work OK for me, although these were printed on a Form1+ printer, and I've found that designs for FDM printers sometimes come out slightly differently, so YMMV, and some post-processing may or may not be necessary depending on your setup.
plusbutton.stl

Offline

#2 2014-11-27 07:27:10

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

so awesome man!   I think it looks great.
you need to set up a webstore


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#3 2014-11-28 03:41:29

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

Awsome, I love it! Love clear  .  .  .  love LEDs  .  .  .  must have LEDs  .  .  .  must  .  .  .

Offline

#4 2014-11-28 19:28:05

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

Well, the interrupt/reset buttons seem to be working ok for me, so found a mouse that was missing the ball and cap:
plusmousecap-empty.jpg

So, made a cap:
plusmousecap.png
plusmousecap.jpg

Then stole the ball from another mouse:
plusmousecap-installed.jpg

It seems to be working great.  Here's the model:
plusmousecap.stl

Offline

#5 2014-11-28 22:02:12

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

i love it rob!


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#6 2014-11-28 23:57:30

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

So cool rob! ADB Lisa Mouse conversion plastics? big_smile

If you've got a printer, I've got a process for you to test. wink

Offline

#7 2014-11-29 00:30:58

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

The SLA process used by my printer is a bit different than what you've described.  There's no real lines visible on the mouse cap, but the lines on the buttons are actually vertical (the buttons were printed buttons "down", or attached to the build platform, and the lines are most likely imperfections in the resin tank surface or similar).  They can be wet-sanded, cleaned with alcohol, and some plastic polish to clean it up.  The SLA process doesn't leave any of those lines internal to the part, they're all on the surface and can be cleaned up in post processing.  But it's a very manual process.

Offline

#8 2014-11-29 01:41:59

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

can't you dip stuff in acetone, or do like a acetone gas dip thing?  sorry i seen some youtube stuff a while back.  not going to pretend i know anything about 3d printing ... but i think its awesome... and i would really like to get into it some day!


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#9 2014-11-29 01:46:46

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

I'm not sure what acetone does to the cured resin, but it's not the same thing as the PLA or ABS plastics used in FDM style printers.

Offline

#10 2014-11-29 02:07:35

volvo242gt
Member
From: Duvall, WA
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 410
Website

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

Rob,

If you ever do start selling the reset & interrupt button assemblies, I'm buying one.  My stock assembly is kinda screwed up...

Also, if you wind up making some for the SE and SE/30, as well as the big box II series machines, I'll buy one of each.

-J


modern: Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 6GB/500G/DVD-RW, Mid-2010 A1286 MBP
PPC: G3/400
Pre-Mac: //e
other: iPhone 6s 128GB Space Gray

Offline

#11 2014-11-29 04:42:10

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

bbraun wrote:

The SLA process used by my printer is a bit different than what you've described.

'nuf said, different beast entirely. Still wicked cool rob. What's max size output for your SL machine?  wink

Offline

#12 2014-11-29 17:11:29

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

volvo242gt: I'm sure I can set you up with one if you'd like.  Shoot me an email with an address and I'll try to get one boxed up.

jt: max build volume of the form1+ is 125×125×165 mm.

Offline

#13 2014-11-30 04:45:27

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

Cool, then a refit kit: Teardrop ADB Mouse -> Clear Lisa Mouse (ready for hand polishing) is easily within the realm of possibilities! smile

Offline

#14 2014-11-30 05:21:27

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

yeah i was going to say that,   lol…  jt beat me to it… can you make the whole mouse  bottom / top / button /ball cover in clear…  Aw man i would love to pretend I had a proto apple mouse.

lol I guess i could just buy a 3D printer and make one for my self before you get too frustrated with our requests smile


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#15 2014-11-30 06:35:47

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

It's not the printer uni, it's the 3-D modeling, do that and it's not egregiously expensive to have the proto parts printed. Check out the new addition to that MLA thread: PERFECT for printed clear ABS Rodent Hides.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2lm6FuaAWI

Offline

#16 2014-11-30 23:50:08

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Mac 128k/512k/Plus Interrupt & Reset Buttons

FWIW, if you guys want to create models, go for it.  I don't have any particular knowledge or skill creating models, I was just experimenting with openscad.  If you want to create models, generally all that's needed is the .STL file for printing.  Either I can print it, or there's several online printing services like shapeways.  A clear mouse with some LED's inside would be neat.  Maybe indicate the mouse button press was registered with an LED.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.