You are not logged in.

#1 2014-10-15 02:16:24

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

(DaynaPort/E30 Adaptor Error Bad Address)

post-2402-0-31643400-1413316887.jpg



All i know is he is using an AUI to TbT adaptor
mkyENgnDFP1PV9rsQupzluw.jpg
his rear port just has AUI and BnC.

looks like this card uses a pretty standard chip as well
sn -- National Semiconductor DP83932 (SONIC) based Ethernet device driver

   The sn driver is currently known to support the following NuBus cards:
           ·   Apple LC Twisted-pair (part #820-0532-A) PDS card
           ·   Cayman Gatorcard PDS
           ·   Dayna DaynaPort/E30

     In addition, the sn interface supports the following interfaces:
           ·   on-board Ethernet for non-AV Quadras
           ·   on-board Ethernet for 500-series PowerBooks
           ·   Apple CS Ethernet Twisted-pair card for Comm Slot found on
               LC575, Quadra 630, LC630, and Performa 580.


netzwerk10.jpg



i am wondering if the error is just because he may not have a valid IP address set yet?
Heaven forbid he tried it before, asking questions….?!?

any info would both be helpful and very much appreciated.

Last edited by uniserver (2014-10-15 20:57:04)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#2 2014-10-15 02:21:52

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,118
Website

Re: Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

It probably means the MAC, not an IP address. Many of these test suites use a loopback of some sort. Are you missing that?

The AUI transceiver wouldn't have anything to do with this.


Machine room (updated for 2019!): http://www.floodgap.com/etc/machines.html

Offline

#3 2014-10-15 03:03:27

techknight
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 453

Re: Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

yea that card's chip is a basic NE2000 compatible chipset.

its showing the MAC address for the card, but it just says adapter address/bad address.

Address can mean anything. it could be the IP address, OR.. it could be the address location of the card for the BUS.

basically, its seeing the DeclROM which tells the machine what it is, where it is, contains the ethernet MAC, etc... But... it may not see the actual Ethernet IC itself. since the Ethernet IC is assigned an address on the bus, it doesnt see it at its assigned address. (my guess)

Last edited by techknight (2014-10-15 03:08:02)

Offline

#4 2014-10-15 04:24:37

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

Humm interesting .
1 - loop back plug. i will have to look into that.
2 - For Techknight, so maybe there is some jumpers on the thing, and they could possibly be set wrong?

Thanks!

Last edited by uniserver (2014-10-15 09:24:04)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#5 2014-10-15 09:29:19

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

Also this NIC is being tried in, that Main-board that was that battery explosion from Sweden.
Could there maybe of been issues with the PDS slot?   i think maybe there was some battery spatter that may have got into
the PDS…  Ah.. slaps head… too many variables.

I hear he is going to try another SE/30 board… but this other SE/30 board he has… it has not been recapped yet.. and it slightly unstable.
so its hard to say, weather or not its suitable to properly handle a PDS device.

'This is a hobby of getting old shit to work,  methodical thought process and patience is mandatory with this stuff."


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#6 2014-10-15 13:30:00

techknight
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 453

Re: Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

Its possibe there are breaks in the PDS. I didnt check the PDS because very few people use it or have cards that go in it. I dont. Lol

Offline

#7 2014-10-15 20:11:05

Cloaked Alien
Member
Registered: 2014-10-15
Posts: 2

Re: Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

Rookie here, chiming in to let you know I've had great success! \o/

The hardware error gave me a proper scare and I can assure you it's still stating "bad address" despite the machine getting a DHCP lease and iCab and MacSSH being able to do their business.

Yesterday I did the basic, to the best of my abilities, setups with MacTCP/OpenTransport before even trying the diagnostics which then became my focus since a worst case scenario would've been the card being faulty or my PDS slot having issues. The popup box stating "An error was found in a DaynaPORT Product attached to your machine. Call Dayna Communications Customer service to report the error." isn't exactly comforting either.

After Uni shared a few recollections I decided to treat the hardware error as irrelevant and reinstalled/installed the 7.5.5 system update, DynaPORT 7.7.2 drivers, OpenTransport 1.3, Apple Networking 1.5.1 and probably something else. Then I made sure to have it in OpenTransport mode and connect it to my Mac Mini with manual IPs and a locked port as it's a known working solution.

Surely enough it could access the webserver on my mac mini. After confirming that the hardware/drivers were working I took a gamble and connected it straight to my network (through a previously untested cheap gigabit switch) and it just plain works. I have yet to try the switches I had it connected to previously.

So now I'm savoring the moment before I try to attempt to get filesharing to work. I think there was something called "Dave" that let old macs connect to samba shares. But perhaps I'll get better performance from some appleshare software on my Raspberry PI.

I'm lucky to have a old PC machine (which I was inspired to re-cap myself) with a zip-drive, Win98 and MacDrive Pro software. Makes it fairly easy for me transfer files to my SE/30 (and other platforms) smile

Offline

#8 2014-10-16 22:28:10

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

Ok,  cooool!
Ya, i had a Techworks Nic card that gave that same error in its diag program.

I wouldn't put any stock into silly error messages from some SW you got from the internet.

Just like the Presto Plus.    None of the readily available software works.
Me and Zack, finally got a message from a guy on the forum, He said "Yeah, here, I have the software that acutely works.
--only this software works.  The stuff that is out there says it should work.. but it doesn't." and he emailed it to me.
Who the hell knows what Revision something is... but i guess that is all part of the fun of messing around with this vintage hardware.

Last edited by uniserver (2014-10-28 09:24:37)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#9 2014-10-16 22:30:47

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

another thing... " Comfort "
Is really a nice luxury!

Last edited by uniserver (2014-10-16 22:43:15)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#10 2014-10-20 06:32:05

Cloaked Alien
Member
Registered: 2014-10-15
Posts: 2

Re: Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

Follow-up for the curious:

Dumped "Dave" (samba), the version I found was for 7.6 or later. Took the AppleShare route. Installed netatalk on my rpi server and made sure to use the "-ddp" switch and enable "atalkd" legacy deamon for it to show up in the chooser. I get much better transfer speeds than I would have expected!

My router seems to be having issues understanding the DaynaPORT but I solved it with a small 10/100 switch in between.

Was easier to get AppleShare working on the SE/30 & Raspberry than it was to reinstall OS X 10.6.7 on my triple-boot "hackintosh" netbook. One step wrong and the one hour process had to be done from the top, ugh. But now both are comfortably accessing the share and there shouldn't be any issues getting my other macs to connect to it smile

Offline

#11 2014-11-17 18:16:59

techknight
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 453

Re: Dayna DaynaPort/E30 - What does this error message mean?

My DaynaPORt E/30 says OK. but yet networks are invisible, or it detects an error switching to ethertalk. odd... I made a new thread about it.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.