Announcement

After 5 years serving the vintage Apple enthusiast community, ThinkClassic has been marked for closure and is now in caretaker mode. Please see this thread for further information. Please direct any questions, comments and enquiries about the website, management and ownership to this thread.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-09-22 17:13:26

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

This is more important for collectors that are outside of the US / Canada.
but good information to know.

Vintage Mac Charging Bricks:
1.5a Portable Charger
2a PB Charger
3a PB Charger

Says on the brick its auto ranging.
might require some mechanical adaptation though.
mine all have the 110v mechanical connection.
4b82f03cedd2f_132368n.jpg


Mac II
Mac IIsi
Mac SE
FDHD
SE/30
MacIIcx
/ci
/q700+
All LC 1/2/3/475/q605
Even the Apple 40SC / AppleCD 300 is auto ranging
Color Classic
Macintosh LC 520 -> 575
Macintosh TV

Apple Macintosh Models you need to watch out for if you are over seas:
These models came in 110 (only) - 230 (only)
128k -
512k - 
512ke -
PLUS -
Plus Plat -
128k Upgraded to a Plus -
Classic -
Classic II -

If you have collected a 110v (only) mac and you have a 230 Volt service.
I hear its really great to buy one of those Step Down Converters. I would think a 500 watt product should be sufficient.
ac-ac-230-110-200.jpg



As a side note
As a side project ---  The 128k (to) Platinum Plus have an interchangeable Analog Board.  It would really be nice
if we could pool our thoughts together and try to figure out how to convert 110Volt A/B's to 230Volt, For the Overseas
collectors out there. Maybe even create a How To?
3_Analog_board_refurbished.jpg

Last edited by uniserver (2014-09-22 17:15:54)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#2 2014-10-13 08:51:34

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

Guys ….  Macintosh Classic II and Classic I (A/B)
I have a Hunch those can be made Either / OR  110 / 230volts.

I do not have a 230v power source…  I should buy a step up converter.

Pretty sure they can be jumped to be either voltage.
right near the rectifier caps.

Last edited by uniserver (2014-10-13 08:52:15)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#3 2014-10-13 09:01:18

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

Screen%2BShot%2B2014-10-13%2Bat%2B4.55.37%2BAM.png
Screen%2BShot%2B2014-10-13%2Bat%2B4.55.50%2BAM.png


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#4 2014-10-13 09:43:06

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

From what I understand, the very first Macs that were shipped to Australia had a US spec analog board. The story goes that apparently back in the day, Apple dealers would bundle a step down converter with every Mac sold, and give customers a very stern warning to never plug the Mac directly into Australian mains power (which is 240V) Over time I believe that a lot of these would've been retrofitted with International analog boards - for example mine has one despite the sticker on the back saying 110V only. Despite this if you come across a 128k that you're not sure of, its probably a good idea to open it and check before applying power.

Offline

#5 2014-10-13 12:11:47

techknight
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 453

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

We have 240v here as well. But its split into L1/L2 so you can use just one phase of 120v or both phases at 240v. Not sure how it is in aussieland.

Offline

#6 2014-10-13 19:54:01

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

what comes to the house is 2 legs @ 120vac   60hz.

so techknight do you think i could just take the hot from each leg, to make 240? would that work the same?  I would have to run a special box to my room, from the fuse pannel.


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#7 2014-10-13 20:02:40

techknight
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 453

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

Yes. Thats how 240v central A/C systems and stoves work.

If you serviced a breaker panel before, you know each breaker is on every other phase. 1/2/1/2/1/2 etc... this is to maintain as close to an even load as possible on the transformer.

And actually you have 3 wires coming into the house from the transformer. 2 hots and a neutral. Basically the "pole pig" is a centertapped secondary.  120-0-120v. Primary being 7.2kv fed off the transmission wires just above it. Some systems are 15kv.

Last edited by techknight (2014-10-13 20:12:11)

Offline

#8 2014-10-13 20:06:00

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

Uni your stove or dryer connection should be 220.  Just need to get a old plug for it.

Offline

#9 2014-10-13 20:13:09

techknight
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 453

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

macdrone wrote:

Uni your stove or dryer connection should be 220.  Just need to get a old plug for it.

Not if they are both gas (like mine). But the central AC is.

Offline

#10 2014-10-13 21:26:19

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

I was just wondering if the phasing would work the same way it does for the guys over seas with 230v right at the plug… sorry i guess its a brain fart.   sorry smile


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#11 2014-10-13 22:40:25

max1zzz
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 207
Website

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

Just for the record, over here (in the UK) it is 230-240v single phase, most of europe is 220 - 230v single phase (and i assume aus is the same)

Offline

#12 2014-10-14 01:46:05

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: Auto Ranging Macintosh Power Supplies 110-240~ (ongoing information)

Ours is actually closer to 240 - 250V, but yeah - it works pretty much the same as it does in the UK and Europe.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.