You are not logged in.

#26 2014-12-24 03:40:36

blemk
Member
Registered: 2014-11-09
Posts: 16

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Washerman wrote:

Bought a G4 DP 1.42GHz because it was cheap, and fully loaded - 2GB RAM, and 4x 500GB IDE drives. Looking to beef up the Radeon 9000 though - thinking XT800. As I don't actually have an OS X machine, this will be it (for now), and I'll try OS 9 on the 1.0GHz DP. Picked up some Mac games (X-Wing, Wing Commander III) so will see how that goes.

Sweet, 1.42 OEM apple chip is nice. Got two myself. Don't let the fact that it is a FW800 MDD stop you from running OS 9 on it natively. big_smile  Thanks to peeps between thinkclassic.org and macos9lives.com working together you can run 9 on it without Classic. It will run 10.5 very nicely too. I went with a GF4 Ti4600 for OS 9 work and modded a cheap Geforce 7800 OC I picked up on ebay for it to use when I really want to play under Mac OS X.

Offline

#27 2014-12-27 14:15:18

Washerman
Member
Registered: 2014-08-24
Posts: 51

Re: Washerman's Appley items

blemk wrote:

Sweet, 1.42 OEM apple chip is nice. Got two myself. Don't let the fact that it is a FW800 MDD stop you from running OS 9 on it natively. big_smile  Thanks to peeps between thinkclassic.org and macos9lives.com working together you can run 9 on it without Classic. It will run 10.5 very nicely too. I went with a GF4 Ti4600 for OS 9 work and modded a cheap Geforce 7800 OC I picked up on ebay for it to use when I really want to play under Mac OS X.

I have had the 1.42 up and running recently, it is indeed quite smooth with 10.5.8. Put in a new PRAM battery, and have just bought a Mac flashed 7800GS on eBay big_smile not sure whether to invest more money into it and go all the way to SATA and an M-Audio card, or just enjoy it as it is now - mind you it's got an ATTO U3LD card, and I've got some enterprise SCSI disks here, so might tinker with those when I can (and when I get 80-68 pin converters). The Dual 1GHz has early OSX and tons of software, but I would like a powerful OS9 machine. For OS9 I have a PC Radeon 9800Pro that could possibly be flashed to Mac, but need to take a closer look at it, it's presently in an old Dell at the olds' wink

Offline

#28 2014-12-27 14:19:31

Washerman
Member
Registered: 2014-08-24
Posts: 51

Re: Washerman's Appley items

ClassicHasClass wrote:

No. More likely there's a short in the PSU or possibly the ADB. tongue

Ah good to know smile having bought a few old machines recently, I haven't been too circumspect about hooking them up to the network, but perhaps I should scan them at some stage. Seems the biggest issue under older OSes was the Melissa virus?

The 7220 has started itself a few times since my post so it's presently disconnected at the power lead until I need to use it next. Didn't realise the ADB could be doing it, but then the KB is a little flaky at times.

Offline

#29 2014-12-27 15:24:51

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 819

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Melissa was a Windows virus, had absolutely zero affect on Macs. The only things that you might need to worry about, if you're unlucky would be SevenDust or the Autostart Worm.

Offline

#30 2014-12-27 16:55:12

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,105
Website

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Didn't realise the ADB could be doing it, but then the KB is a little flaky at times.

If you short the reset pin to ground, it will make the machine start -- that's all the reset key does. In fact, I built such a dongle for my 7300 that acted as a NetBSD server so that it would always restart after a power interruption (NetBSD didn't object to the reset key being "down all the time").

An intermittent short in a cable might cause this or a bad switch in the keyboard, so switching keyboards would be an easy first thing to check.

Last edited by ClassicHasClass (2014-12-27 16:55:33)

Offline

#31 2015-01-05 13:33:22

Washerman
Member
Registered: 2014-08-24
Posts: 51

Re: Washerman's Appley items

So today I picked up cables for the 6100. Dug up the WGS for comparison with MJ'S machine smile Pics of my rat-rod WGS...

vyvek1.jpg

I have no explanation for the burr holes - ventilation or maybe a rigged up power switch? Thinking of filling with resin. Also, the NOS front cover stands out a bit too much!

Pics of rust and dust... the outer shell (not pictured) is quite rust pitted.

25kmpus.jpg

nlo9a9.jpg

in8si9.jpg

Plastics generally aren't too bad, though I didn't stress them today.

so46jm.jpg

Is this where the VLSI chip is on an 8500?

jjlftl.jpg

Offline

#32 2015-01-05 14:14:12

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Ahha! Nice pictures, thanks for posting them!

Well, you weren't kidding about the rust!! big_smile smile

I'm not sure if rustoleum would help that out... but maybe with a sandblast or something, you could find some good metal underneath. smile

That black plastic stuff is pretty good (or it was in mine), so hopefully you have a solid core for your rebuild. At least you got a fancy original CD bezel. Those things are damn hard to find these days. And your logic board frame seems to be all in one piece. Congrats on that!

EDIT - And your main front bezel is still attached on both sides! that's another big plus right there. mine was only held on by the screws.

Last edited by MJ313 (2015-01-05 14:15:49)

Offline

#33 2015-02-05 22:43:12

Washerman
Member
Registered: 2014-08-24
Posts: 51

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Over the past couple of days I have cleaned up the StarMax and PowerCenter, in the hope of making some progress towards getting a 604/604e system up and running.

Unfortunately, it hasn't gone so smoothly.

The PowerCenter was sold to me as a working unit. It has a 604e/225 upgrade processor, 128MB (4x32MB) and a hard disk with OS9 on it. The previous owner suggested a PRAM battery change when he sold it, which I have done. The machine fires up, bongs, and then does nothing; there is no video output (into an LCD via a tested working DB15-to-VGA cable), and the keyboard does not respond (i.e. caps/num lock do nothing). I have hit the CUDA switch, reseated the CPU and RAM, and also tried to zap the PRAM but nothing happens - the computer never reboots. I've read that these clones can be a bit flaky, and might even need to zap PRAM as many as 50 times to get a boot!

Few pics from before I cleaned up the fascia

2a9qq6g.jpg
10wsbc1.jpg
2eoci8i.jpg

The StarMax could be a lost cause, but haven't given up yet. The case scrubbed up quite nicely, but the battery damage done to the motherboard might be terminal - I noticed a bit more damage than I thought around the battery area, and a lot of the silkscreened writing washed away. In any case I plugged everything back in, took a single sided 16MB DIMM from the 7220, and went to boot it up, watching for smoke. It responded to the keyboard power button, which was a good start. The LEDs at the front and rear of the computer came on, but there was no sound through the speaker except a cough, and no video output (via VGA). I reversed the speaker cable and retried but it was the same outcome. I tried it with two different Rayovac batteries (840 and 844), with no PRAM battery, after pressing the CUDA switch, and tried zapping the PRAM (again, no restart), but nothing changed - just power LEDs and fans on. Eventually it started to restart itself after being switched off. Of course that stopped when I pulled out the soft power plug from the motherboard.

It wouldn't turn on at all if the floppy wasn't plugged in. It also seems that the CDROM cable is shot, so all of the above testing was done without a CDROM plugged in (or a hard disk). Would that prevent a Starmax (or other Tanzania) from booting? Might try it with different RAM as well, but only have these two DIMMs, and they test OK in the 7220.   

Scrubbed up - just a little yellowing, and some scratches to the cover

2njefqr.jpg

Main area of damage

2vrty05.jpg

Power LEDs

2mm6yjc.jpg

Testing next to the G4 (and an old ATX case for testing PC parts)

fyk220.jpg

A stack of beige in the cupboard ... just missing the 6100/60

xe2w0i.jpg

Offline

#34 2015-02-06 01:50:19

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 819

Re: Washerman's Appley items

I seem to recall you're a fellow Aussie, correct? I didn't even know they sold Starmax's here...awesome.

Offline

#35 2015-02-06 02:22:09

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 970
Website

Re: Washerman's Appley items

That 7230 was Oz only no?


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#36 2015-02-06 05:23:21

Washerman
Member
Registered: 2014-08-24
Posts: 51

Re: Washerman's Appley items

LCGuy wrote:

I seem to recall you're a fellow Aussie, correct? I didn't even know they sold Starmax's here...awesome.

I am indeed, Sydney-side in fact!

This Starmax came out of a shed collection that had come from a defunct Mac repairer (not sure which one). The guy who had it told me he'd had a few of these, so there may be more floating around. I was also surprised by the PowerCenter - never thought they'd come here either!

Offline

#37 2015-02-06 05:30:31

Washerman
Member
Registered: 2014-08-24
Posts: 51

Re: Washerman's Appley items

mcdermd wrote:

That 7230 was Oz only no?

From my understanding it's an Asia-Pacific model, a re-numbered 4400. The rationale seems to be that 4400 is an unlucky number in Asia; the number four sounds like the word for "death" in at least one Chinese dialect (I am aware of this being the case in Cantonese, there may be others), so it's a model designation based on superstition! LCGuy mentioned it a page back too. I'm surprised they didn't call it the PM8800 (8 being similar to the word for prosperity wink)

Offline

#38 2015-02-06 07:20:40

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 819

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Washerman wrote:

I am indeed, Sydney-side in fact!

This Starmax came out of a shed collection that had come from a defunct Mac repairer (not sure which one). The guy who had it told me he'd had a few of these, so there may be more floating around. I was also surprised by the PowerCenter - never thought they'd come here either!

I've seen one clone in person. One and only one. It was a Power Computing at a store that used to be up in Rockhampton, QLD called Software Today. I was at boarding school at the time...only Mac head in my entire grade...so you can imagine how well that went...anyway I was all, "Its a Mac...ooh...Power Computing!"...and the other kids tried to tell me that it can't be a Mac because its not an Apple tongue That it has to be a PC because "Apples suck"

Offline

#39 2015-02-06 16:43:54

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 237

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Ok my power computing tower I had, had lots and lots of bad caps.  Just FYI might need those done.

Offline

#40 2015-02-06 23:51:51

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Washerman's Appley items

I had a roommate back in college who had a Power Computing Power Center 120... pretty nice at the time, and good value too. I haven't seen one in the flesh since then! Do these clones all take standard atx power supplies?

Offline

#41 2015-02-07 12:48:59

Washerman
Member
Registered: 2014-08-24
Posts: 51

Re: Washerman's Appley items

LCGuy wrote:
Washerman wrote:

I am indeed, Sydney-side in fact!

This Starmax came out of a shed collection that had come from a defunct Mac repairer (not sure which one). The guy who had it told me he'd had a few of these, so there may be more floating around. I was also surprised by the PowerCenter - never thought they'd come here either!

I've seen one clone in person. One and only one. It was a Power Computing at a store that used to be up in Rockhampton, QLD called Software Today. I was at boarding school at the time...only Mac head in my entire grade...so you can imagine how well that went...anyway I was all, "Its a Mac...ooh...Power Computing!"...and the other kids tried to tell me that it can't be a Mac because its not an Apple tongue That it has to be a PC because "Apples suck"

Tough crowd! Should have got the store to fire it up smile

I was lucky enough to have Mac Labs at school, and even briefly owned a PB145B for programming assignments, but I guess even then most of us had PCs at home to play games, so in our juvenile minds Macs weren't great entertainment. However I know about being a tech nut - during my high school days I had an Excel 3 advertisement on my bedroom wall, among other IT posters. Yeah I didn't have a gf then wink

During the clone era I was at uni, so Sun machines were our focus; there was very little Mac focus in Comp Sci in that era, but maybe it's changed since OSX. I remember reading about Mac clones and being intrigued, because the design language seemed quite different to Mac, and allowing clones to be made didn't seem very Apple-like. However the StarMax was the first clone I saw in the flesh smile

Offline

#42 2015-02-07 12:51:18

Washerman
Member
Registered: 2014-08-24
Posts: 51

Re: Washerman's Appley items

macdrone wrote:

Ok my power computing tower I had, had lots and lots of bad caps.  Just FYI might need those done.

Oh boy was hoping it wasn't caps sad the previous owner was a Mac tech and he had it running so might check with him precisely when that was. Shame I am in oz, otherwise uniserver's services would be cost effective - I don't yet know my way around a soldering iron!

Offline

#43 2015-02-07 13:16:39

Washerman
Member
Registered: 2014-08-24
Posts: 51

Re: Washerman's Appley items

MJ313 wrote:

I had a roommate back in college who had a Power Computing Power Center 120... pretty nice at the time, and good value too. I haven't seen one in the flesh since then! Do these clones all take standard atx power supplies?

Yeah it looks good for mid90s design smile this one seems a bit yellow so might need to retrobrite it too.

The Starmax and the 7220 have AT connectors - two sets in fact, with a separate soft power connector. I know the StarMax has a 200W supply, but the 7220 seems to only have a 100W supply, even though the service manual says it should be 200. Maybe I misread the label wink

The Powercenter might have something closer to ATX but i didn't quite strip it down (though that will have to happen soon). It is great that the CPU is on a card rather than soldered and I think the RAM is easier to find. Finding the VRAM could be harder though. Will keep posting as i go through this quest for a working clone smile

Offline

#44 2015-02-07 14:34:48

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 819

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Washerman wrote:

Tough crowd! Should have got the store to fire it up smile

I was lucky enough to have Mac Labs at school, and even briefly owned a PB145B for programming assignments, but I guess even then most of us had PCs at home to play games, so in our juvenile minds Macs weren't great entertainment. However I know about being a tech nut - during my high school days I had an Excel 3 advertisement on my bedroom wall, among other IT posters. Yeah I didn't have a gf then wink

During the clone era I was at uni, so Sun machines were our focus; there was very little Mac focus in Comp Sci in that era, but maybe it's changed since OSX. I remember reading about Mac clones and being intrigued, because the design language seemed quite different to Mac, and allowing clones to be made didn't seem very Apple-like. However the StarMax was the first clone I saw in the flesh smile

Actually it was running...it was running a game, can't remember what one...but because it wasn't "an Apple"...and you couldn't see the menu bar, etc...I was told that apparently it was a "PC" and not a "ghey Apple".

When I was in primary school, my first primary school was all Apple...then my second primary school had a mix of Macs and a couple of PCs, then I went to high school and it was all PC...then I went to uni...my uni's policy on supporting Macs was more or less, "We really don't want to do it, and we don't want to be seen doing it, or have anyone know that we did it, but we'll do it if we really, really, really have to"...those were some dark days. I once actually got told that apparently, "Macs aren't really designed for our network"...yeah...my Mac isn't designed for THEIR network....gotta love it.

Offline

#45 2015-02-07 23:16:41

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 970
Website

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Novell?


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#46 2015-02-07 23:28:47

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 572

Re: Washerman's Appley items

You know, I have a dead Power Computing PowerBase 200 (by no means the greatest model ever, but it was my first pre-G3 Power Mac, and my first clone), and I happened across another logic board (also dead, of course). Do you think recapping everything (CPU card, video/PCI riser, and logic board) would get it working?

It's worth a try I suppose. I've nothing to lose...

c

EDIT: Nice collection, by the way!

Last edited by cc333 (2015-02-07 23:29:26)


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#47 2015-02-07 23:47:16

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 237

Re: Washerman's Appley items

The power computing caps look don't seem to leak as much as just dry out.  I would guess easier to recap due to less corrosion and cleanup.

Offline

#48 2015-02-08 04:55:50

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 819

Re: Washerman's Appley items

mcdermd wrote:

Novell?

Nah, Windows/Active Directory...but managed by people without a clue...much like the university itself smile roll

Offline

#49 2015-04-24 15:40:50

Washerman
Member
Registered: 2014-08-24
Posts: 51

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Haven't posted for a while, family stuff got in the way, hope everyone is well :) I have added to the collection recently - a dream of mine fulfilled by finally getting my mitts on a IIfx! It's only taken 25 years...

erdc9i.jpg

Planning to load it with a few Nubus cards that are lying around here. Think I would prefer to use it daily over my G4 1.4... and it gets into System 7 faster than my C2D with SSD loads Win 7!

Have bought other bits for the 6100 too, from Germany, but they haven't shown up yet...  bit worried after nearly seven weeks...

Offline

#50 2015-04-24 15:48:58

MJ313
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 498

Re: Washerman's Appley items

Washerman wrote:

Haven't posted for a while, family stuff got in the way, hope everyone is well smile I have added to the collection recently - a dream of mine fulfilled by finally getting my mitts on a IIfx! It's only taken 25 years...

Awesome, what a beast! How much RAM in that thing? I heard it gets a little pricey...

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.