You are not logged in.

#26 2014-11-07 16:40:13

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Cool, thanks!  It seems fixed now.

Offline

#27 2014-11-12 17:05:30

markyb
Member
From: Bedford, OH USA (216)
Registered: 2014-05-16
Posts: 182
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues


Put a video link to see if anyone else has that issue. Youtube videos are not showing up, however the space on the page where they should be, is there.

I'm using Windows 7 x64, with Chrome 38.2125.111 m


http://markyb.applefool.com for a list of my computers, my blog, and some random resources.

Offline

#28 2014-11-12 19:30:26

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,376

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Same in Win7/Firefox, but I don't have Flash installed if that makes a difference. Rev levels upon request  .  .  .  if I can figure out how to do it. hmm

Offline

#29 2014-11-13 03:27:08

iMic
Administrator
From: Adelaide, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 877
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Fault confirmed. Our YouTube command embeds an iframe in the middle of the page that links out to YouTube's embedded player, so it should be working but isn't. I'll look into it when I have a few spare minutes.


Resident Professor of Alternative Methodology
Faculty of Macintosh Restorations & Modifications - "It works, let's fix it!"

Offline

#30 2014-11-13 05:00:32

iMic
Administrator
From: Adelaide, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 877
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Found the problem.

Screen_Shot_2014_11_13_at_2_24_29_pm.png

We were configured to retrieve embedded videos from http://www.youtube.com, regardless of the connection being used here. Connecting to a HTTP resource from a HTTPS site is blocked in the browser, and so videos wouldn't display. Likely a holdout from some of our earlier code.

Thankfully the fix was simple. We've simply reduced the embedded domain to //www.youtube.com without the HTTP/HTTPS prefix. This allows the browser to connect to YouTube via the same protocol as it uses to connect to the forum.

This should resolve the issue. Tested working in Safari (7.1), Chrome (37.0) and Firefox (33.1).


Resident Professor of Alternative Methodology
Faculty of Macintosh Restorations & Modifications - "It works, let's fix it!"

Offline

#31 2014-11-13 15:54:30

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,081
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Works in TenFourFox. On bbraun's videos, if you have the QTE installed, shift-right click and select SD resolution, and you can play the video in QuickTime player.

Offline

#32 2014-11-13 19:16:10

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,376

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Works for me now, great howto. One day, maybe I'll hook speakers up to the NetBook. hmm

Offline

#33 2014-11-14 04:19:43

markyb
Member
From: Bedford, OH USA (216)
Registered: 2014-05-16
Posts: 182
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

There we go!! Thanks iMic!


http://markyb.applefool.com for a list of my computers, my blog, and some random resources.

Offline

#34 2014-11-29 20:02:06

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 562

Re: Reporting Site Issues

I can't seem to get ThinkClassic to work in Classilla. When I try, I get the following message repeatedly: "Classilla and www.thinkclassic.org cannot communicate securely because they have no common encryption algorithms."

Why is this?

c

Last edited by cc333 (2014-11-29 20:03:42)


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#35 2014-11-29 21:19:47

iMic
Administrator
From: Adelaide, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 877
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

We're aware of this issue, but having some problems tracking down the exact cause. I'll send the message around and see what we can come up with.

Some users are reporting no issues, while others are unable to browse the forum at all. Personally I can browse the forum as a guest, but it fails following a login attempt. If I close and relaunch the browser following that login attempt, the session is retained and I remain logged in, but the site functions correctly and is accessible once again. It's a rather difficult issue to trace.

I'd positive that disabling SSL for Classilla on the server side and allowing it to operate via HTTP would resolve the issue, but I'm sure that we would like to see the issue investigated and possibly fixed before we resort to such measures.


Resident Professor of Alternative Methodology
Faculty of Macintosh Restorations & Modifications - "It works, let's fix it!"

Offline

#36 2014-11-30 00:51:43

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,081
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

It doesn't occur at all on my 1.8GHz G4, nor has it ever. Now it occurs sometimes on my 800MHz G4 7300, but only intermittently. Other times it works fine. However, it definitely didn't occur when I was testing it.

I can't really diagnose this without a detailed trace on the machines being affected (preferably a Wireshark session with the exact bytes going over the network), and I suspect this is a race condition.

I note for the record I haven't been able to trigger this on "that other site" with either computer.

Offline

#37 2014-11-30 01:51:24

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 562

Re: Reporting Site Issues

ClassicHasClass wrote:

"that other site"

It's fine, you can say it!

Anyway, it happened on my 1.33 GHz PowerBook G4 (this isn't a typo!), and it basically made the site useless for me. This was with Classilla 9.3.3.

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#38 2014-11-30 16:50:12

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,081
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

OK, but does it occur anywhere else?

Offline

#39 2014-11-30 17:29:25

iMic
Administrator
From: Adelaide, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 877
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

I haven't been able to make the issue occur anywhere else at this stage.


I should restate to everyone that we haven't ruled out a server-side issue. The reason we're testing Classilla is to help identify what both the browser and server are doing to help isolate the fault.


Resident Professor of Alternative Methodology
Faculty of Macintosh Restorations & Modifications - "It works, let's fix it!"

Offline

#40 2014-11-30 21:41:28

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,081
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

That said, it's still ultimately my bug somewhere, since TenFourFox doesn't have a problem with it. I'm putting together a sniffer setup to watch what happens off the 7300 when it goes bad, but if someone has a Wireshark trace with the actual bytes on the wire, that would really help.

Offline

#41 2014-11-30 23:05:23

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,376

Re: Reporting Site Issues

We've got the back-button = double post bug:

https://www.thinkclassic.org/viewtopic. … 3552#p3552

Offline

#42 2014-12-01 00:06:38

iMic
Administrator
From: Adelaide, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 877
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Deleted the double post.

I've tested this one out. Made a few posts and hit the back button several times, but it never made a second post. That's in Safari 7.1 - haven't tested in other browsers.


Resident Professor of Alternative Methodology
Faculty of Macintosh Restorations & Modifications - "It works, let's fix it!"

Offline

#43 2014-12-01 01:08:28

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,376

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Firefox 34.0.5 under Windows 7 Home Premium - Service Pack 1 - updated about 10 days ago.

Offline

#44 2014-12-01 01:45:56

iMic
Administrator
From: Adelaide, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 877
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Ahh, Firefox... bundle of fun. I'll install the latest version and test it out.


Resident Professor of Alternative Methodology
Faculty of Macintosh Restorations & Modifications - "It works, let's fix it!"

Offline

#45 2014-12-01 02:15:40

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,376

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Sorry, my computer experience far pre-dates Mosaic  .  .  .  old habits die hard, or not  .  .  .
.  .  .  stubbornness prevails. wink

Offline

#46 2014-12-01 02:26:44

iMic
Administrator
From: Adelaide, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 877
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

I don't have an issue with Firefox as such, other than the fact it seems to pinwheel for a solid thirty seconds with almost every operation on Mac OS X. Launch browser, new tab, close tab, enter text... you name it. Delete preferences, reset browser, install updates - nothing seems to fix it.

Perhaps it's a different story on Windows.


Resident Professor of Alternative Methodology
Faculty of Macintosh Restorations & Modifications - "It works, let's fix it!"

Offline

#47 2014-12-01 03:18:54

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,376

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Apple probably lamed it on purpose. Bat rastards! mad

Last edited by jt (2014-12-01 03:19:35)

Offline

#48 2015-02-18 21:36:51

unity
Member
Registered: 2015-01-09
Posts: 81

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Does anyone else have an issue where submitting a post brings up a site not responding error? I only use Safari under Yosemite, so I have not tested it on other setups. But its happens a lot, about 50% of the time I post. I can click back and the message is still preserved and then submit again. The second time it works fine. Might be a DNS issue on my end, not sure. I only have this issue here.

Offline

#49 2015-02-19 02:09:34

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,081
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

Haven't had that with TenFourFox.

Offline

#50 2015-02-19 02:44:18

iMic
Administrator
From: Adelaide, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 877
Website

Re: Reporting Site Issues

unity wrote:

Does anyone else have an issue where submitting a post brings up a site not responding error? I only use Safari under Yosemite, so I have not tested it on other setups. But its happens a lot, about 50% of the time I post. I can click back and the message is still preserved and then submit again. The second time it works fine. Might be a DNS issue on my end, not sure. I only have this issue here.


We certainly do have this issue. From what we understand it only occurs with Safari on Yosemite and possibly Safari under iOS 8, so only the current versions of Apple browsers - no other browser is affected. Mcdermd has been looking into what could be causing it on our server for the past couple of months at least, but nothing looks suspect so far.

This is something we'll continue to investigate and hopefully eventually resolve, but without input from Apple it's proving rather challenging.


Resident Professor of Alternative Methodology
Faculty of Macintosh Restorations & Modifications - "It works, let's fix it!"

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.