Announcement

After 5 years serving the vintage Apple enthusiast community, ThinkClassic has been marked for closure and is now in caretaker mode. Please see this thread for further information. Please direct any questions, comments and enquiries about the website, management and ownership to this thread.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-08-06 03:01:24

techknight
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 453

Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Finally got a TAM.

After fixing all 3 of those Macintosh Portable boards, Haplain decided to mail me this surprise.

Come to find out its a TAM!

The good: Seems to be in decent condition.

download_20140805_225336.jpeg



The bad:

Subwoofer did not fair well in shipping. got damaged, booooo...
download_20140805_222410.jpeg
download_20140805_222406.jpeg

Offline

#2 2014-08-06 03:53:38

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Very nice nonetheless, it sounds like hap is a classy guy, enjoy!

Offline

#3 2014-08-06 04:38:35

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

congratz.  Im pretty happy with what I have.  If I get one ill smile, but now that I have actually finally seen one its ok if i don't get one.

Offline

#4 2014-08-06 05:30:57

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Sweet! If the break is clean, I bet you could weld it back with Methyl Chloride.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#5 2014-08-06 07:40:21

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

TAM....very nice! yikes

Offline

#6 2014-08-06 13:39:34

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,118
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Yeah, that's fixable. Congrats on the TAM. Everyone who visits is in awe of it ("isn't that the computer from Batman?"). Now you just need the G3 L2 card; looks like you already have the fat back. smile


Machine room (updated for 2019!): http://www.floodgap.com/etc/machines.html

Offline

#7 2014-08-06 15:47:54

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

I must be the only guy on Earth that pulled out the G3 upgrade and put the cache card back in.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#8 2014-08-06 16:46:13

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Yeah, that particular tendency of yours almost makes you crazier than I am. lol

Offline

#9 2014-08-06 16:52:29

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

In my eyes, it's no different than a car collector that likes an original, concourse resto.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#10 2014-08-06 17:02:39

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Yeah, we can all rationalize our foibles with great efficiency. roll

I prefer to think of it as the two of us doing the Yin/Yang thing, not the western notion of good/evil, but the Asian concept of balance in all things.

That said, you're the white hat of restoration/hacking and I'm not quite the Black Hat that onlyonemac would paint me  .  .  .
.  .  .  more along the lines of a Graphite, Duo or Gandalf Gray Hat. tongue

Offline

#11 2014-08-07 01:05:43

techknight
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 453

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

I wouldnt know where to find a G3 card, and if I do, im sure the price would be through the roof. I wouldnt mind having the extra speed especially if its going to be my right-hand vintage machine.

Offline

#12 2014-08-07 01:14:14

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

I was lucky enough to get a 6400 board with the G3 500 and I slid it into a 5200 series all in one.  Kinda funny that it boots and runs as fast as my G3 Molar.

Offline

#13 2014-08-07 03:32:34

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,118
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

techknight wrote:

I wouldnt know where to find a G3 card, and if I do, im sure the price would be through the roof. I wouldnt mind having the extra speed especially if its going to be my right-hand vintage machine.

Any L2 card upgrade will do, such as the ones for the 6400/6500. I have a 500MHz in mine.

And yeah, Dylan, you weirdo. smile


Machine room (updated for 2019!): http://www.floodgap.com/etc/machines.html

Offline

#14 2014-08-07 05:31:22

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Leave that weirdo alone, he classes up the place smile

Offline

#15 2014-08-07 15:23:33

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

lol Now this is the kind of silliness that made the first few years of the 68kMLA so much fun/built the community! big_smile

Offline

#16 2014-08-07 15:57:39

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

You mean actually typing fun banter? Oh my! If that happens too much, we may even become ... a community. yikes


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#17 2014-08-07 16:31:09

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Not that I have a TAM, but I tried an L2 upgrade card in a 6400, and had some compatibility problems.  It required the driver, which required some version of macos I didn't really want to run.  I ended up reverting back to a stock config just to limit the number of things that could go wrong.

Offline

#18 2014-08-07 16:49:20

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,118
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

bbraun wrote:

Not that I have a TAM, but I tried an L2 upgrade card in a 6400, and had some compatibility problems.  It required the driver, which required some version of macos I didn't really want to run.  I ended up reverting back to a stock config just to limit the number of things that could go wrong.

Interesting -- which brand? I have a Sonnet in mine and it runs 9.2.2 with OS9Helper (and the Crescendo extension, of course).


Machine room (updated for 2019!): http://www.floodgap.com/etc/machines.html

Offline

#19 2014-08-07 17:19:58

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Yeah, I think it's a Sonnet, but I think I was trying to run 7.6.1.

Offline

#20 2014-08-07 17:44:42

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

On a G3? Fat binary Apps and 680x0 code in the OS for NuBus Architecture booting on a PCI Architecture G3 screamer can't be a very good thing, or so I would think.

Offline

#21 2014-08-07 19:20:39

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

We'll the cache in the G3 sonnet is weird so sometimes I have to boot twice as the extension is supposed to control the cache operation but without a pram battery it will sometimes error out.

Offline

#22 2014-08-07 23:43:25

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Try re-seating the accelerator in the cache slot two times times a/o using an eraser on the edgecard contacts and call me in the morning. wink

At which System rev. did the Mac OS achieve 68k Cleanliness?

Offline

#23 2014-08-07 23:47:06

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Define cleanliness?  Mac OS *is* 68k.  Even the Mac OS ROM file that gets loaded at boot on new world ppc is 68k code.

Offline

#24 2014-08-07 23:54:01

techknight
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 453

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

if its straight 68K, isnt it possible then to run Mac OS 9 on a 68040? hehehe. That would be a neat sight.

Offline

#25 2014-08-08 00:58:30

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: Conquest: Finally a TAM!

Well, it's not quite that clear cut, the newer stuff is PPC only.  But the "original" 1MB 68k mac rom is still required and used through OS9 and Classic.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.