Announcement

After 5 years serving the vintage Apple enthusiast community, ThinkClassic has been marked for closure and is now in caretaker mode. Please see this thread for further information. Please direct any questions, comments and enquiries about the website, management and ownership to this thread.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-06-17 07:01:37

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Color Classic fun time

So I had a LC 550 motherboard recapped by Mcdermd and I'm happy to say both it and the PowerBook 100 are working great, that said the color classic had some issues.

Even with enabler I had some issues.  The monitor control panel would cause lock up and need reboot.
Of course it never said what it was in about this macintosh.

So I formatted the drive, fresh install of 7.5, installed Mac identifier and whoosh way faster than stock color classic and rock solid.  Would love to get a presto plus someday but what they are going for is way to spendy for me.

So specs on my CC make it a CCII.
LC550 motherboard
36 Meg's of ram
1 gig Hard disk
External Apple 600i CD rom
External Apple 350 mb hard disk
External zip
LC PDS Ethernet on the way and I'll have it on the net.

I have a 575 board to put in another case but I am not sure if I wast to go PowerPC instead.

Offline

#2 2014-06-17 16:08:51

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

Nice work, man!

Mine has a 575 board with the 640x480 mod on the analog. It's actually useable with 8.1.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#3 2014-06-17 16:14:12

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

so dylan can you make a thread that just specifically / plainly talks about what you need to mod and do for Video Mod, and 575 mod?
-- something for already advanced guys like you and me...   -- Something that doesn't go on and on for pages.


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#4 2014-06-17 16:24:01

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

It's all documented out there on the Colour Classic FAQ (that's how I did it in the first place). You'll find it referred to as the "VGA mod".


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#5 2014-06-17 16:33:11

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

Now I've kind of got a hankering to do a Takky so long as I can find my L2 G3 card. Hmmm ...


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#6 2014-06-17 16:40:32

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

yeah, i don't know... as many know, I am lover of Mac hacks.  this one i just don't like.

I mean a 575 in a 575 is just an all around much better way to go...
- better, bigger monitor -- sony triniton.
- Optical Drive
- easy HD access
- Stereo, Way better sounding Audio
- Will accept a Any main board including a Color Classic.

- Macdrone's route of a LC520/LC550 in a CC is pretty ok though.

I have a LC520 MB in my CC, The nice one i got from macdrone, and its a solid machine.
And it automatically gives me an extended resolution choice.

Presto plus was kind of a cool upgrade.
I know some say they are really hard to find,  I have a hunch there is some guy out there that has a box
of these presto plus add ons.  If one was to activlly look for one, and inquire.  Pretty sure a presto plus could be had
from the right person for 99 - 150.

- one of the biggest reasons people think their presto plus is dead because of the software on sonnets website is bad.

Last edited by uniserver (2014-06-17 16:41:42)


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#7 2014-06-17 20:52:37

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Color Classic fun time

My first color classic I did the 640x480 mod back when it was newer.  It got dropped in shipping and I lost it but it was a sweet move.  I have another case to play with so Takky could be done but mystic would be ok.  I'm thinking maybe Takky the 575 rather than the Cc.

Offline

#8 2014-06-17 21:16:51

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

Yeah then what are your MOBO choices for this PPC modification?


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#9 2014-06-17 21:40:35

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

Once again, The CCFAQ has you covered wink


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#10 2014-06-17 21:41:12

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: Color Classic fun time

With just the Takky mod? The Performa 62xx/63xx boards, which aren't anything special. But with a 3.3v regulator you can go up to a 6500 board with a G3.

Offline

#11 2014-06-17 22:50:36

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Color Classic fun time

But the 575 has a much better screen and power supply in comparison than the color classic but not as huge as the AIO performas.  I'm sure it will take some doing as the 6xxx series are IDE and the 575 is SCSI. 

I think I am going to go all out and Takky my extra CC.

Offline

#12 2014-06-17 23:15:14

uniserver
Member
From: Sf, Mi
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 956
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

Dylan, it doesn't hurt to summarize.

+ what if that site goes down...

Most of the stuff i post on here is already, other places as well... it doesn't hurt to have a nice fresh summarization. -- and a fresh perspective.

what better place for info like that ... then this forum...


#I Re-Cap √Mac √NeTX √Amiga Boards - A/B - PSU# (MacCaps.com)  Modern SCSI HD's - For Old Macs - Pre Cfg'd - 10k RPM! 73gb!! $50 + free shipping  -- Mac 128K Re-Ram kits (16 Chips) $35 + shipping, Floppy Issues?-> Bourns Filter Solution 128k - SE/30, $16 + shipping

Offline

#13 2014-06-17 23:40:34

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

macdrone wrote:

I'm sure it will take some doing as the 6xxx series are IDE and the 575 is SCSI.

But in a Takki, you're replacing out the main harness so you'll have your choice of IDE or SCSI.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#14 2014-06-18 02:05:51

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,118
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

My CoCla has a first name 575.


Machine room (updated for 2019!): http://www.floodgap.com/etc/machines.html

Offline

#15 2014-06-18 03:20:51

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: Color Classic fun time

I thought you could just take an IDE from the harness or just put in a IDE PCI card?

Offline

#16 2014-06-18 08:24:41

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: Color Classic fun time

If you're using a x400/x500 board you can use a PCI IDE card, or even a Tempo SATA if you wanted, but to me its a bit of a waste when not only is there already IDE onboard, but furthermore 1 PCI slot is all that will fit into that case. But all this is a moot point - to put a PowerPC logic board in there in the first place you need to replace the wiring harness with one from a donor PowerPC Performa, which will have IDE anyway. Even if you didn't want to use the onboard IDE, the PowerPC boards won't work with the Colour Classic/LC5xx edge connector.

Offline

#17 2014-08-28 02:43:30

MinerAl
Member
From: The not-so-great plains
Registered: 2014-08-26
Posts: 73

Re: Color Classic fun time

Sorry for necromancing the thread. I just got here smile

If you want a 575 that will accept the IDE innards of a 5x00, you want a 580. It has the same basic shape (not identical however*) as the 575, but the edge connector of the 630, so 5200-6500 boards slot right in. You'll need to beef up the power supply to supply 3.3v for the PCI slot(s) if you want to use a 6360-6500 board.

Only drawback is the standard shadow mask monitor in the 580, *with its different screen curvature, isn't as nice as the 575's Trinitron. (The CC used a 10" Trinitron that was capable of 640x480, at least. It is a beautiful sharp little monitor, inferior only in dimensions to the 575's)

I wonder if there are "VGA" style hacks for the 575/580/5200 that'll give you higher resolutions. A 6500 MoBo in a 5xx with the screen set to 1024x768 or better would be a sweet ride smile

Last edited by MinerAl (2014-08-28 02:43:50)

Offline

#18 2014-08-28 05:28:31

mcdermd
Member
From: Corvallis, OR
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 1,022
Website

Re: Color Classic fun time

Just FYI - we like necromancy here. It keeps the same thing from being posted in 12 different threads. Just because the thread is old doesn't mean the information obsolete.


Daily Drivers: 27" iMac 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7 (Late 2009), 21.5" iMac 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5 (Late 2013), 11" Macbook Air 1.6 GHz i5 (Mid-2011)
See the restored heroes here.

Offline

#19 2014-08-28 18:18:08

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: Color Classic fun time

MinerAl wrote:

I wonder if there are "VGA" style hacks for the 575/580/5200 that'll give you higher resolutions. A 6500 MoBo in a 5xx with the screen set to 1024x768 or better would be a sweet ride smile

I don't remember what resolutions are available, but I'm tempted to try my Radius Pivot LC in the  .  .  .  well  .  .  .   not the Q630  .  .  .  maybe a RoadApple PPC? Portrait Res was curiously dropped at the introduction of the Q630. I'm guessing it's wholly incompatible with TV Tuning or some such?

I got about halfway thru TAKKYfying a 575 before losing interest  in that and heading the MoBo toward the MacintoshClassicIIIColorTVp™ project. So that was somewhat along the lines of what you're talking about. I was shooting for 640x480@60Hz_VGA for TV Tuner compatibility for the incredibly fugly, retarded, lobotomi    .  .  .  enhanced LC575, but 1024x768 would have been an interesting tweak for that tiny tube.


< .  .  .  reminds self to fire up the Brand New, two years old, never been used, Diamond Bladed Wet Tile Saw.  hmm >

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.