You are not logged in.

#1 2017-09-26 01:48:15

MarinatedPasta
Member
Registered: 2017-09-26
Posts: 2

Ethernet on eMac G4 not Working

So I finally got my first proper Mac, an old eMac G4. The only problem is I cant get Ethernet to work for the life of me. Because Apple support doesn't go as far back as Tiger, and hours of searching online hasn't led to a proper solution, I figure here, where people know an insane amount about the back-ends of OS X, would hopefully be my best bet.
I am plugging the eMac into a switch -> Router -> Modem. Every other device plugged into the switch works flawlessly.
The Ethernet cable and the port its in works for other computers running Linux and windows. The ethernet card is recognized in ifconfig and System Profiler. System Preferences>Network>Network Status is empty and I cant click on the Configure or Connect buttons. Switching from Network Status to Built-in Ethernet I have TCP/IP selected and Use DHCP for "Configure IPV4," but the ip address, subnet mask, and default gateway are all blank. Switching to manual and putting the info in has no effect. When I load up the Network Diagnostics tool, everything is failed.
Look to the images for further information, and any information you need I can supply. This was a gift from a family friend so I don't have the installation disk, or any other mac to try to repair the os, but every thing else on the device works fine.
Any tips, help, or information is highly appreciated!

uploadedimage.png

Offline

#2 2017-09-29 15:35:31

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,108
Website

Re: Ethernet on eMac G4 not Working

Unfortunately, everything seems to be configured correctly; Tiger should certainly work in that network setup. I think you just have a blown Ethernet port. It happens. sad

There are a number of USB Ethernet dongles that will work "out of the box" with Tiger, and there's a driver floating around that will even work with the same dongle for the MacBook Air. I think I'd go that route next.

http://www.sustworks.com/site/news_usb_ethernet.html

Offline

#3 2017-10-01 03:26:06

cc333
Member
From: North S.F. Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Posts: 576

Re: Ethernet on eMac G4 not Working

Don't some Ethernet ports have fuses?

It's possible that maybe the little micro fuse is blown.

c


Main Macs: Early '09 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 13"
Secondary Macs: Early '08 Mac Pro, Mid '12 MacBook Pro 15"
Playthings: Mac SE/30, 3.0 GHz Mavericks-based HackServe, Many others....
Desired: Lisa, Kanga PowerBook G3, Apple IIc, Apple II, Spare parts, etc.

Offline

#4 2017-10-01 04:09:17

ClassicHasClass
Member
From: Electron Alley
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 1,108
Website

Re: Ethernet on eMac G4 not Working

Some do, but that's more often seen on cards and up(per)-market NICs. I don't know if the eMac's has a fuse on it, but I doubt it, and I suspect that it's more likely the Ethernet controller is at fault.

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of Vintage Apple and Macintosh computers. Ask questions and find answers about classic Apple desktops, laptops, accessories and peripherals.